Posted by: wildflowerz | March 21, 2012

Product Review: Fitbit

First, background:  I got a Fitbit a few years ago for Christmas or my birthday.  I liked it a lot.  I used it for over a year before I accidentally left it on some clothes and washed it.  It didn’t work after that, funny enough.  I’ve wanted to replace it for a while. so when I reached my 10%, I got it for myself for a reward.  I’ve had it for about a week and a half now.

So, a picture for you:

It now comes in this blue (which I got) or in a bright pink, which is also cute.  It’s pretty small.  It’s about the size of my pinky finger, though a little bit wider.  It comes with a belt clip, which has alwasy been a bit itchy to me.  I’ve worn in on my waistband (both on pants and on panties) and it comes off too easily.  I like to wear mine on my bra.  I wear it in the middle of the front of my bra when I wear sports bras.  On a regular bra, I clip it to the under side, middle of my bra cup.  You don’t have to wear it any particular way.  In fact, you can just put it in your pocket and it works all the same.

Okay, the actual Fitbit has a display and 1 button.  When you press the button, it will show you the last display you had it on.  You hit the button to cycle through the options.  I like to keep mine simply on steps, but you also have the option of seeing distance, calories burned, flights of steps ascended, the time, and a flower that gets taller and gains leaves the more active you are.  The flower isn’t particularly helpful, but it’s cute.

To sync the Fitbit, you just have to have the separate base plugged into a USB port on your computer.  When you get near it, it automatically syncs.  To charge it, you pop it onto the base and let it sit.  It only takes 20 or so minutes to get to full power and the power lasts about a week before it needs to be charged.

The Fitbit ALSO can track your sleep.  There’s a soft armband that velcros onto your non-dominant arm’s wrist while you sleep.  You press the button and hold it down until it starts a stopwatch.

Now, on to the website.  When your Fitbit syncs, it uploads all the information to the website.  You can go there and see the following information:

  • Steps Taken
  • Floors Climbed
  • Miles Traveled
  • Calories Burned
  • Activity Score
  • Bar Graphs of Calories Burned, Steps, Floors, and Activity Score for 5 minute periods throughout the day
  • Pie Chart of time spent at the activity levels:  sedentary, light active, fairly active, and very active
  • Food Plan, showing you the goal weight you entered, the plan intensity you chose, and your daily calorie deficit, assuming you’ve entered in your food in their journal
  • Sleep:  Your sleep efficiency in a percentage, time you went to bed, how long it took you to fall asleep, how many times you woke up, how long you were in bed, and how long you actually slept
  • Historical line graph of your daily burn versus intake of calories for 30 days
  • Historical bar graph of steps, distance, activity score, and floors for 30 days
  • Historical line graph of the 4 activity levels for 30 days
  • Historical line graph of your weight for 30 days
  • Historical bar graph of hours asleep and times awakened for 30 days
  • Your weight and BMI in the health ranges
  • Your lifetime, best, and rank (by gender, bmi, or age) for steps, floors, distance, calories, and activity score
  • Your rank among friends for steps, active points, distance, and time at very active

All that information is right there on your main page.  There are groups you can join and talk to other people based on interests.  There are general message boards to visit too.

So there you go.  It retails for just under $100, but I see that it’s only at $88 on Amazon right now, which is about $10 cheaper than I got it just a few weeks ago.  I love it and if you get one and want to be friends, let me know and I’ll add you.  Friendly competition!

Leave a Reply

Categories

