Posted by: wildflowerz | April 24, 2012

I’m so glad that I’ll never fit in. That will never be me. Outcasts and girls with ambition: that’s what I wanna see!

I’m just gonna brag on my girl here, so feel free to skip this if you don’t care, but I’m excited and proud.  😛

Em got her last Progress Report today.  All that’s left is the final report card.  She’s holding steady at Os (Outstanding) in the major subjects (Reading, Writing/Grammar, Spelling, Math, and AIM) and Ss (Satisfactory) in everything else (Social Studies, Science, Health, Handwriting, Music, Art, & PE).  I don’t mean that the one’s I didn’t deem major are unimportant.  They just don’t do a lot of Science, Social Studies, or Health and most everyone gets Ss in Music, Art, and PE.  She’s raised her Handwriting grade up and kept it there.  Her teacher comment was that Em was finishing the year strong.

Here’s where I really want to brag.  They do this thing called a STAR assessment 3 times a year in 2nd grade.  It assesses your kid’s reading level and such.  At the beginning of the year, I was a bit confused because Em’s went down about half a grade level from over the summer, but it was still a grade and a half above her actual level.  Well, we got her end of year assessment with the Progress Report and it’s awesome!  According to her 1st grade teacher (the 2nd grade teacher hasn’t said anything about anything), the IRL (Instructional Reading Level) is the number to look at.  She started the year at a 3.8 (Last year she was at 4.something) and dipped down a bit to 3.6 at halfway through the year.  However, she’s ENDING the year at a 5.3!!!  That means she’s reading at the level of an average 5th grade about 1/4 of the way into the school year.  How awesome!  Most of the other numbers on here I either don’t know what they mean or I know what they mean, but I don’t know how her number compares to other kids, but here are the full numbers:

  • GP:  Beginning 2.00, Middle 2.41, End 2.76
  • SS:  Beginning 457, Middle 439, End 634 (This is their actual score on the STAR reading test)
  • GE (Grade Equivalent):  Beginning 4.1, Middle 3.8, End 6.0 (!!!)
  • PR:  Beginning 97, Middle 89, Ending 97 (I think this is their percentile rank against other kids their age, though I’m not sure if it’s just her school, Georgia, the US or what)
  • NCE:  Beginning 89.6, Middle 75.8, Ending 89.6
  • IRL:  Beginning 3.8, Middle 3.6, End 5.3 (!!!)
  • Est. ORF (Estimated Oral Reading Fluency):  Beginning 120, Middle 115, End 175
  • ZPD:  Beginning 3.0-4.6, Middle 2.9-4.3, End-4.0-6.1 (I think this is what the assessed AR level of the books she reads needs to be.  In 1st and 2nd, they can read and test on whatever.  I *think* in 3rd they have to stay at their minimum or higher.  We’ll see in the Fall.)

So, yay!  Her goal at the beginning of the year was to get to 200 AR points.  She passed that back in January.  Then her goal was 250.  She made that in March.  NOW it’s to get to 300!  She wants to be the top reader in her grade.  The top reader from last year is in her class this year and Em knows she’s still ahead of her, but she doesn’t know how she compares to the rest of the classes.  But her class was top in AR points at one point this year….at least when I heard about it. Anyway, right now she’s at 291 points.  May 11th is the last day for points for their last quarter goal, but I don’t know if she can keep doing them after that.  I’m sure she’ll meet her 300 goal.  I wonder where she’ll get to!

For a good Progress Report, she wanted and Operation game.  She got one for a friend who was donating her gifts from her birthday to the children’s hospital and has been talking about it ever since.  I got her the Star Wars one.  They had a Toy Story one, but it was all banged up and there was only the one.  She doesn’t watch Spongebob, so Star Wars it was.  I also got her a soccer outfit for her American Girl doll.  She says she wants a Monster High car as her reward for 300 AR points!  For 250, she got a mani/pedi with mom.  I can’t remember what 200 was.  XD

So proud of my cutie!

Responses

  1. Awesome job, Em! 🙂 (And gratz to mommy, too!) 🙂 All this and she’s also cute as a button, sweet, and well behaved. 🙂

    • You’re right. I have the perfect child. :-O

      /lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

