Posted by: wildflowerz | May 9, 2012

Worst. Mom. Ever.

I feel like the worst mom in the entire world right about now.

I was doing something online and texting a friend and I noticed it was 2:24.  I normally leave here at 2:14 to go and get Em from the bus stop.  I freak out and rush out the door to get in the van and drive down.  I’m in such a hurry and blind panic that I start backing out of the garage before the door’s all the way up.  I hear a crunching and I stop and pull back up.  I don’t care what it is, I just fly out of the garage and run down the street.

There’s no one there.

Still panicking, I run back home (because I’ve forgotten to bring my phone with me) and I call a friend and neighbor who is our “if I’m not at the bus stop, go here” person.  Em’s there.

Holy shit, I was in such a panic I can barely breath and I want to cry and I’m relieved that Em’s fine.  I go back out and briefly inspect the garage door.  I get it to go all the way up and it’s slightly bent, so I see if I can drive out without hitting it.  I can and I go get Em.  Until I see her, I’m still freaking out a bit.  Once I do finally see her, I really just want to cry.  A LOT.  So, I bring her home and cry.  A LOT.  She was fine, but she’s starting to get a little freaked at how much I’m crying.

I’ve finally calmed down now, but I still just feel awful.  I emailed Chris to let him know what happened.  He calls to ask me inane questions about the garage door, never once saying anything about how awful I feel or asking about Em or anything.  I was able to disengage the garage door opener and pull the door back down.  It’s slightly bent and one of the bottom wheels is off the track.  The handle on the outside is broken too.

Happy Mother’s Day. ;-\

Responses

  1. Don’t beat yourself up about this. I’ve lived through much worse (having 4 kids to mess up with) and we have all survived. In time, this should even seem humorous – trust me! Remember – you had already established the “where to go if I’m not there” strategy, and even though I don’t know you personally, I can assume you are human! Happy Mother’s Day!

    • Thanks so much! I can totally step back from this and see that it’s not the worst thing in the world, but I’m also still coming down off my freak out and so I just feel awful about it!

      Of course, the hubs is only worried about the garage door. Men!

  2. I am so sorry you had such a panic. I understand completely. I am glad I was here and that she was fine. She is always welcome to come here. She was a tiny bit worried because she wasn’t planning to be here, but she seemed fine and not panicked. I wanted to hug you, but then the baby fell and I was too discombobulated to do anything. Yoiu are NOT a bad mom for being ten minutes late. A bad mom doesn’t have a back-up plan and probably shows up an hour late. You are a good mom with a good plan. Don’y be hard on yourself.


Leave a Reply

Categories

