Posted by: wildflowerz | June 28, 2012

Review: C25K Free iPod App

Apps!  I mentioned earlier that a friend asked if I’d tried any of the apps out for the Couch to 5K thing.  I hadn’t, but I’m not sure why I didn’t think of it!  So I went to the App store.  You know me…I’d much rather get it for free.  So I d/l the 4 free apps I could find:

  • RunNow
  • 5K Runner
  • C25K Free
  • Joggy Coach

I tried C25K Free first because it was the first one I had that incorporated your music right into the app.  The others may work with them, but it’s not obvious up front, so I tried this one first.

Okay, the interface first.  At the top, it tells you what week and day you’re on.  Below that, it tells you the duration of the workout followed by a description.  For instance, W1D1 is “Brisk five-minute warmup walk.  Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.”  That’s slightly unclear.  There’s a 5 minute warmup, the alternationg 60/90 seconds, and then a 5 minute cooldown.  So 30 minutes in all.  But the 30 minutes is listed under duration.  Below that’s the big part of the screen.  The middle has a large circle that tells you how long your current segment has left.  There are two smaller circles to the top right and left that tell your total elapsed time and your total time remaining.  Right under the big circle is the Start button.  Below that’s a sliding thing to change which workout you’re on.  Below THAT are taps for music and options.

Okay, so in the music part, you tap it and it takes you to what you’ve already got playing with a back, pause, and forward button.  There’s also a button for Playlists, so you can switch it there instead of backing out and going into your music.  The thing I don’t like is that it plays straight through your list.  So my first day, I got all the Abba on my exercise playlist, followed by starting Aerosmith.  Typing this out, though, if I went and switched it to my exercise playlist and put it on shuffle (what I usually do), it might shuffle in the app.  That’s something I’ll have to check later.

Okay, while I’m actually walking and jogging, it interrupts your music to say “Start running now” or “Start jogging now.”  It also tells you when you’re half through and when there’s 1 minute left of the 20 middle part.  My only problem with this is that it’s not loud enough.

There is a small ad on the bottom that you can get rid of if you pay $1.99 for the regular version.  It doesn’t bother me.  The only other thing that annoys me is that it’s constantly asking if it can post to my Twitter account.  Bringing this to mind:

Overall, I like it.  I’ll probably try Joggy Coach next.

Leave a Reply

Categories

