Posted by: wildflowerz | August 27, 2012

Seems that I was busy doing something close to nothing, but different than the day before. That’s when I saw her, ooh, I saw her! She walked in through the out door, out door.

/wave  What’s up?  I’m kind of annoyed and I’m trying to get over it.  I think I’m totally over-reacting a lot lately, but I can’t seem to make myself stop.  Sucks.

So, more on the “mean girl” stuff.  We went to Em’s dance last Friday night.  It was cute.  It was outside and they had food.  The ice cream truck was there.  They were doing face painting for just $1.  All the kids were dressed in their cowboy attire.  I was, quite frankly, appalled at all the hoochie wear some of the kids were wearing.  I saw a LOT of tight tank tops and bootie shorts.  Sometimes together.  I also saw a lot of button up shirts that were tied just under where their boobs would be were they not 8 YEARS OLD!  Luckily, those parents at least put them in a white tank top too, but still.  Do we need to make our little girls looks like they have boobs?  I’m thinking not.  Anyway, I think I’ve come to the conclusion that Em’s just oblivious.  She doesn’t see the other girls snubbing her.  And, to be fair, they aren’t really being mean to her.  Most of the girls she considers friends all said hello to her, some even hugging her, but when it came to actually hanging out, they all had their own friends they wanted to hang out with.  Em didn’t seem to really hang out with anyone much at all.  Her best friend wasn’t there.  I totally get why…her mom has two younger kids.  One’s only 3 and the other’s in 1st, but he’s got issues with following directions and listening and it’s an extremely hectic kind of event.  Chris and I were both there and we’ve only got one well-behaved 8yo and we had a hard time keeping up with her.  I didn’t think of it til we were there, but we should have invited her friend to come with us.  Her other friend was there, but not until later.  They hung out a little, but her friend wanted to dance and Em’s anti-dance, evidently.  /shrug

So, it seems to me that there are definite cliques, though not necessarily mean ones.  Em doesn’t seem to be much of a part of any of them.  Speaking of her friends, last year, part of the reason she joined Girl Scouts was to hang out with one of her best friends since they haven’t had a class together.  Part of the reason she wanted to continue with it this year was to hang out with the same friend.  She was especially glad she did it again since that friend’s mom decided to take her out of soccer for some reason.  So she was glad she still had an activity with her.  Found out today that her mom moved her to another troop with Em’s other best friend.  So now Em’s alone in her GS troop with a lot of girls that she’s friendly with but no one she really likes a lot.  So much for doing the activity to be with her friend.  Oh well.  I’m sure she’ll still like it.  Two of the girls in her troop are in her class, so maybe she’ll get to know them better.  Hasn’t happened in other classes yet, but maybe this time.

You can tell our year’s ramping up now.  I had to make a list of stuff that has to be done this week so I won’t forget.  We’ve got Em’s curriculum night tomorrow night.  Her first soccer practice is Wednesday, followed by a parent meeting for that.  Thursday I’m volunteering at her school to set up the book fair.  After school on Thursday I’m driving her to my parents’ house and Chris is going to get our D*C badges.  Friday morning, we’ve got to drop the dog off at the kennel, go by WW and weigh, and then head down to D*C.  I’m still not super excited about D*C.  I’m happy to get a few days away from worrying about Em and school stuff and things that need to be done.  But the actual event?  Meh.  The good thing is that with expectations so low, it’s bound to surpass them, right?  😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

