Posted by: wildflowerz | September 5, 2012

I’m not being ridiculous. No Englishman would *dream* of dying in someone else’s house – especially somebody they didn’t even know.

Good morning.  I feel like I’m back to my normal schedule.  I totally went lazy yesterday and didn’t do anything.  I felt like I needed a day to recover.  I was of two minds on that.  The reality is that I didn’t walk an insane amount over the Dragon*Con weekend, especially considering I was constantly walking from one hotel to another.  Over and over and over again.  And while it did FEEL like I was walking a lot, I really wasn’t.  My Fitbit tells me that I didn’t even break 10k two of the days and the other I only got to about 12k.  12k’s about what I get when I do an hour at the gym each day.  However, I definitely got a lot more steps in than I would on a day I don’t go to the gym.  For instance, yesterday I didn’t do much of anything, but I still got over 6k.  So, there’s that.  However, it was REALLY hot and I wasn’t feeling great, so the weekend was just exhausting to me.  Anyway, I went ahead and went slack yesterday, but got back to the gym this morning.

I’m actually quite proud of myself.  I mentioned last week that I started week 4 of the C25K and that was the farthest I’d been.  But then I had this chest deal and didn’t go to the gym again until today.  So I decided I’d go ahead and try day 2 of week 4, but I didn’t think I’d be able to get through it.  I barely did make it through, but I did.

Do you know what one of my favorite things about D*C is?  I always feel like that internet meme:  “READ ALL THE THINGS!” or “WATCH ALL THE THINGS!”  I’d kind of gotten into the doldrums with reading for a while.  I feel like I’d gotten out of it a bit, but I’m kind of excited now.  On the reading part, I joined the Sword & Laser Book Club and Vaginal Fantasy Book Club on Goodreads.  I’m just going to participate when it looks interesting though.  Right now, I’m watching the Desperate Duchesses VF.  I’d read that one a little while ago.  I watched the one on Ill Wind last night.  I’d also read that one a while ago.  I also watched the S&L wrap up of Assassin’s Apprentice last night.  I LOVED that book.  This month’s VF book interests me NOT AT ALL though.  And the alternate isn’t available for Kindle, so I probably won’t bother with it.

Anyway, I’m kind of reading too many books at once right now.  I’d started Les Mis this summer, but couldn’t get into it, so it’s started, sitting on the Kindle.  Then I’m reading a juvenile book at the gym, Magyk by Angie Sage.  For Dragon*Con, I was saving Lost at the Con on the Kindle.  It sucks ass, but I feel like I’ve got to finish it.  Then, I’m reading the most recent JD Robb, Celebrity in Death.  Oh, and I’m reading the second WondLa book to Em at bed time.  So yeah.  I’m up to 144 finished books this year so far.  Yay. 🙂

On the tv front, I found a TON of stuff recommended at D*C on the BritTrack on Netflix.  On Instant, I added:  MI:5, Hetty Wainthropp, Wire in the Blood, The Last Detective, Prime Suspect, Vera, Raffles, Rosemary & Thyme, Red Riding Trilogy, Murdoch Mysteries, Doc Martin, Ultraviolet, Apparitions, Survivors, Jekyll, old Upstairs Downstairs, and Luther.  For non-Instant, I added:  Vexed, more Hetty Waintropp, Whitechapel, Campion, Jonathan Creek, Lovejoy, The Day of the Triffids, The Fades, Hotel Babylon, Shakespeare Retold, and new Upstairs Downstairs.  So yeah.  I’ve been trying to clear out a lot of the shitty movies I’d added to my Netflix Instant queue lately.  And I have, so there’s that. 😄

Oh, I don’t remember if I mentioned it in my D*C post.  I’m excited that Em’s now of an age where Chris and I can start sharing some things that WE like with her.  She likes Doctor Who, The Avengers, etc.  Of course, I’m not going to show her True Blood and Game of Thrones, but you know.  Anyway, I didn’t really think about it until the Eureka panel, but that show would totally be fine for her.  Chris didn’t like it, but I liked it a lot and kept up with it.  Plus, it’s on Netflix Instant.  Plus, in the last seasons, there’s Felicia Day and Wil Wheaton!  So I’m excited to show it to her.

We should be getting to trying out our new games with her too.  We usually do game night on Thursday, but we might do some tonight.  We had soccer last night.  It was a fun, rainy practice.  On the plus side, it wasn’t so hot!

Leave a Reply

Categories

