Posted by: wildflowerz | November 27, 2012

How’s the sickie?

Ug.  That just about sums up how I’ve been feeling lately.

After a week of feeling like I’m in a haze, I finally thought I was getting better on Saturday.  I went to the gym and came back and had Mom and Dad over for a TG lunch.  The next day, I was in a haze again.  This time, the cough seems to have moved up from my chest and brought congestion and even more coughing with it.  Still, I went to the gym on Sunday and even managed to eek out 30 minutes of jogging.  But the rest of the day, we went to see a movie and then I came home and laid on the couch for the evening.  Yesterday, I went to the gym and it was tough, but I slogged through my normal strength/cardio workout.  I went to the grocery store and even got out most of the Christmas decorations.  I got a new type of cough med and tried it and it made my stomach queasy.  Not sure what was up with that.  I still feel crappy.  This morning, I powered through and made myself go to the gym again.  It was a jogging day.  I got 5 minutes in before I gave up.  I ended up walking for an hour and calling it a day.  Today, I’m not doing anything.  I’m sitting here on my ass and watching tv.

So, this brings up my quandry:  when do you give up the exercising and just rest and hope to get better and when do you just power through and keep going?  I think I heard at one point that if you were sick from the neck up, you were good to exercise.  Below the neck and you should rest.  I don’t know.  I was tired of not exercising.  So I think for now, I’ll just do the best I can.  I’ll try and push myself a bit, but back off if need be.  I don’t know.

So, I finally made it out of the evaluation state on my ActiveLink.  You were supposed to behave like normal during the evaluation, but that’s when I got sick.  So instead of exercising almost every day, I exercised maybe twice and did a lot of lying around.  During the evaluation, you can’t see you progress.  You can’t see how many APs you’re earning or anything really.  It’s frustrating.  So I didn’t want to start the eval over.  So it thinks I’m a sloth.  😛  It’s goal for me was to earn 2 points a day.  Pre-AL, my workouts earned me between 9 and 10 points each.  Now?  Now those very same workouts are earning me between 4 and 5.  So what does this tell me?  It’s one of two things (or a combination of the two).  The manual AP entry system is totally wrong.  It’s supposed to take into account your weight when it figures how many you’re earning.  And since I’m working out on machines that keep the time, I know I’m not exaggerating on how much I’m exercising.  The intensity on the things I’m doing are right there on the machines too, so I know it’s not that.  This was my first explanation.  Then I realized what probably most of the real problem is.  The AL figures a base line on how much activity you should be doing a day, minimum.  You do that and get to your 100%.  As a visual, the actual AL has 6 lights.  It’s got a start point.  Each light is worth 25% of what you should earn.  4 lights and you’re up to 100%.  After that is where you earn your APs.  (At least, I think that’s how it goes.)  So, what’s happening is that while I was working out at the gym a lot before, I wasn’t doing anything else the rest of the day and basically I was being a sloth.  So while it’s good I’m exercising a good bit, I’m still prettey sedentary the rest of the time.  Not exactly a surprise, but I hadn’t really thought of it that way.  So yeah.  While I finished the assessment on Friday, the 12 week challenge didn’t start until Monday.  But I earned 3 points on Saturday and 5 on Sunday and Monday.  Today, I’ve got 0 so far.  I’m up to 108% of my goal, but that doesn’t earn me anything yet.  I’m still trying to figure this thing out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

