Posted by: wildflowerz | January 2, 2013

2012 Resolutions!

I meant to do this yesterday, but after the book post, I was a little blogged out.  So, here it is today!  First, how did I do on last year’s resolutions?

  • I will start the Couch to 5K program and complete it.  It might take me longer than the 9 weeks it’s supposed to take, but I’m going to finish.  After I finish, I’ll increase my pace, gradually.

I technically didn’t complete this one, but I think the spirit of it was done.  I completed this one, going 4.0.  So at the end, I still wasn’t actually going a full 5K.  After talking to my doctor, I decided to restart it, going 6.0 instead of 4.0.  It’s kicking my butt, but I just finished week 3 and haven’t punked out on any days yet.

  • Barring illness, I’ll exercise at least 3 times a week, aiming towards at least 5.  The length of each session will be 30 minutes or more, but aiming toward an hour.

Around summer time, I sucked at this.  I can’t remember exactly when I stopped exercising regularly, though I did start out the year well.  However, since I got the awesome Groupon over the summer, I joined a gym at the beginning of August when Em went back to school.  Since then, except when I was sick, I’ve gone almost always 5 days a week.  These days, I’m going 6 or 7.  And my session lengths are an hour to an hour and a half.  So I’m calling this one a win.

  • I’ll continue to follow the Weight Watcher program.  By this time next year, I will be at 170 or lower.  That’s a modest loss of 1 pound a week for 52 weeks.

So.  I did continue to do WW.  I sucked at it for a lot of the year.  But since August or so, I’ve been doing really well.  Since the beginning of August, I’ve lost 22.6lbs, for an average of 1.1lb/week.  So, I faltered for quite a while, but I’ve been back on track for 5 months now.  For the record, for 2012, I lost 29.4lbs for an average of 0.6/week.  I’m down to 192.8.  My doctor has my goal at 150.  I reserve the right to revisit that with him when I get closer, but going with that number, I need to lose 42.8 more pounds.  So if I want to reach my goal by the end of the year, I need to lose more than 0.8lbs/week.  I recognize that as I get closer to goal, it will be harder, but I’m still going to aim to be at goal by the end of 2013.

  • I will be less quick to judge.

I don’t know how well I did with this one.  I try, but it’s tough when you’ve got behaviors ingrained in you.  I do think while I didn’t exactly succeed with this one, after my snap judgements, I did succeed in realizing what I was doing and tried to re-think.  So this is still one to work on.

  • I will, again, read at least 200 books.  I’ll also keep up my mini reviews.  Included in these 200 books, I want to:
  1. Finish Bujold’s Vorkosigan series.
  2. Finish Robb’s In Death series
  3. Read David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
  4. Read The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M Auel
  5. Read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
  6. Read Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  7. Read The War of the Worlds by HG Wells
  8. Read Foundation by Isaac Asimov

I read 223 books in 2012, so I completed that part of my resolution.  I also kept up with the mini reviews both at Goodreads and Shelfari.  For the books I wanted to read, I finished Bujold’s series, including the newest one that came out a few months ago, though I didn’t read her short story collection.  I tried, but I hate short stories and they didn’t have a lot to do with the Vorkosigan series…at least the first few that I got through.  I tried to read The Alchemist, but I couldn’t make it through it.  I hated it.  I read all the rest, with the exception of Les Misérables.  I did start it and haven’t given up on it, but it’s VERY slow, so maybe this year.

So, now for this year!  Here are my goals for 2013:

  • Continue with WW and lose 42.8lbs by the end of the year, getting to my doctor-set goal of 150.  
  • Continue to work out at the gym, at least 5 days a week.  I want to continue working on strength, but reserve the right to re-evaluate HOW I’m doing it, if better information is found.
  • Finish the Couch to 5k program at 6.0mph.  At the end, increase my time or speed until I can actually complete a 5K.  Then, and this is kind of scary to me, do an actual 5K!
  • Continue to work on being less judgemental.
  • Read 200 books again this year.
  • Finish and/or read these books:
  1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  2. Fool’s Errand by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #1)
  3. Golden Fool by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #2)
  4. Fool’s Gate by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #3)
  5. Legacy by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #2)
  6. Passage by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #3)
  7. Horizon by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #4)
  8. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  9. Lorna Doone by RD Blackmore
  10. The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
  11. Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
  12. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

That list of specific books isn’t as long as last year’s, though they’re all classics in some form or another (except possibly The Sharing Knife books…I don’t think they’re considered Fantasy classics).  12’s also good for one a month from this list.  I try to pick some that I’ve been meaning to get to, but haven’t, some from those list of classics (straight classics or sf/fantasy classics), and some from banned book lists and the like.  Ipicked 200 again because it seems to be a good number for me.  I usually have no problem meeting it, but I’m not too far over it.  This year, I actually wanted to beat last year’s number, but I fell short.  But that’s okay…I still read a LOT.

So, there ya go.  What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

Categories

