Posted by: wildflowerz | February 11, 2013

For just as the swan’s last song is the sweetest of its life, so loss is made endurable by love and it is love that will echo through eternity.

  • BMI:  Currently 31.9 (Beginning 36.5)
  • Body Age:  57 (Beginning 62)
  • Body Fat Percentage:  44.7 (Beginning 48.7)
  • Resting Metabolism:  1559 (Beginning 1679)
  • Skeletal Muscle Percentage:  24.7 (Beginning 23.1)
  • Visceral Fat Level:  8 (Beginning 9)
  • Weight:  186.0 (Beginning 212.0)

I had a doctor’s appointment today.  Good news all around.  You can see my changes since the beginning above, but since last time, I’ve lost 6lbs, gained a year on body age, lost .8% body fat, lowered my resting metabolism by 49, raised my skeletal muscle percentage by .2, and lowered my visceral fat level by 1 (and that hadn’t changed since I started until this week).  I’d like to see a bigger increase in my muscle in a month.  I did make a significant change for the increase last month and figured I’d keep at it this month.  I’m not sure what I can do to increase it.  I suppose looking into changing up my strength training routine’s probably a good idea.  I do up my weights every time they seem to be getting to easy, but that’s all I’ve really done with it.  I’ll have to look into that and see what I can come up with.

Saturday morning I wore the new new shoes, the Brooks Ghost.  It wasn’t a running day, but I was anxious to try them out and see how they’d feel.  Normally I do 10 minutes of walking to warm up.  Saturday, I walked for 5 minutes and then ran for 5 minutes.  Before I even got to the run, my toes were going a little numb.  I went ahead and went through the weights and then got on the elliptical.  The numbness got REALLY bad on the elliptical.  I finished that up and went to the treadmill where it didn’t get much better.  I went home, determined to take the shoes back.  Chris and Em decided to come with me.  We figured we’d look at some furniture stores for sofas and Em wanted to use the rest of her Christmas money to get a 3DS.  The running store was PACKED.  It took 10 minutes before someone could get to me to do the return.  I decided I’d come back during the week instead.  I didn’t see the lady that had helped me the previous two times anyway.  I went back today and neither of the previous people I’d worked with were there.  Another lady helped me.  She thought that I tried on entirely too many shoes the first time I was there and they should have been able to pinpoint a shoe for me better than that.  /shrug  I tried on 4-5 pairs today.  I ended up getting these:

Those are the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13.  They were $110 and she gave me 10% off since I’d had so much trouble getting the right shoe.  She also told me to wear them for 2 weeks.  If they didn’t work for me, I could still bring them back.  Wow!  So, we’ll see.  Tomorrow’s a running day and that should be the real test.  If it ever stops raining, I’m going to take my runs outside.

Saturday after the shoe return, we looked at all the furniture stores on Barrett near DSW.  Thomasville, Ashley, and American Signature.  Thomasville didn’t have a lot at all.  Ashley and American Signature had some cool stuff.  We’re thinking possibly some type of sectional or a sofa with a chaise on it.  We also looked at one near Best Buy.  That one almost totally all leather.  We don’t want that at all.  We went to Best Buy for Em’s 3DS.  They had a sign showing all the colors, one of which was Em’s favorite teal blue.  They didn’t have it there, so we decided to check GameStop at the mall.  I freaking hate traffic on Barrett.  Instead of going the back way via Chastain, Chris decided to go via Barrett.  It took us over 20 minutes to get what should have taken 2.  Gah.  When we got there, we asked if they had the blue one (because they were all behind the counter) and the guy said they didn’t have one after checking.  That’s all he said.  Em was a little upset since she had her heart set on getting one right then.  We decided to head home and try Target.  There’s a BJs and a GameStop near our Target, so we tried BJs first.  Nothing.  We went on to Target and they didn’t have one either.  Em decided to just get the purple one.  When we got the guy to get it out, Chris asked if they happened to have a blue one somewhere else.  He told us that they discontinued the blue one and they were hard to find.  See?  That would have been good information to have before we drove all over the place!

The next day, I was looking through the Sunday paper and guess what was on sale at Target?  The 3DS and the 3DS XL both had free $25 gift cards with purchase.  So, yeah.  Em’s GS cookies came in yesterday, so we went to pick those up, then went to Target to get the gift card.  We also picked up two cute floor lamps that they had on sale.  Em needed one for her craft/homework table in the library and another for her room.  We then headed down to Ikea to get a dining room table and chairs, look at couches, and possibly get a new office chair.  We did all that and in the mean time, it started raining.  When we got home, it was still raining, so we unloaded all but the table.  We did that this  morning.  Today I went to the gym, the doctor, and the grocery store, before heading down to Big Peach.  Once I got home, I put together two of the chairs.  Ug.  The screws were awful to put in.  I ended up messing up something and had to take the second one totally apart to fix it.  Blah.  I’ve got 4 more to put together.  Chris and I will probably take apart our old table tonight and haul it to the basement.  Maybe even get the new one together.  Em’s on a GS field trip today, selling cookies outside a store.  Fun. 🙂

I think this post got a little rambly there in the end, huh?  I guess that will be all for now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

