Posted by: wildflowerz | March 3, 2013

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller. Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone. What doesn’t kill you makes a fire, put that thing on lighter. Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone.

Good evening!  I’m hopefully gonna wrap up this current 5K stuff so you guys don’t have to listen to me drone on and on about it any more.  🙂

Last night, the forecast for this morning was clear, but cold.  It was supposed to start raining around noon.  We got up at 6am and when I woke Chris, he immediately asked me what the temperature was outside.  Since technically, that’s all he asked, I told him it was 32, which it was.  What I didn’t tell him was that now it was snow back in the forecast all morning.  /evil  So, I woke Em and we all got ready and headed down to the race area.  It took place downtown in the city we live in.  We’ve only been down there 2-3 times, so we’re not really familiar with the area.  Luckily, it was all easy to find.  It was already showing at this point.  It’s not been cold enough for long enough for it to stick and it wasn’t heavy snow by any means, but we live in Georgia, so we’re calling it snow. XD  We went and got our bags of stuff (okay, really just the tee shirt and a lot of advertisements from the sponsors) and took them back to the car.  We were already SO COLD.  I had on my compression capris under some sweat pants.  Then I had on my running socks and shoes.  My running shoes are very much ventilated at the toes, so that didn’t help.  Then I had on a long sleeve bamboo shirt with my gym sweatsuit hoodie, along with gloves and a beanie hat that covered my ears.  We ended up sitting in the car for about 15 minutes.  We headed up to the start line about 15 minutes before the race started.  We looked all around to see if we saw anyone from Em’s running club, but no luck.  I don’t know if no one showed up or they were so bundled up we couldn’t see their neon yellow tees and Em just didn’t recognize anyone.

So, the race started up and we all jogged pretty slowly in the pack.  Chris and Em gave up after about 2 minutes and walked.  Em had decided just before we started that she was going to walk with Chris.  I kept jogging for a while.  The route was only labeled at the miles, so I can only guess, but I think a guess.  I think I probably lasted about 3/4 of a mile before I started walking.  I MOSTLY walked the entire thing.  I did jog a few short bits in the middle and I probably jogged the last 1/4 mile through the finish line.  In the end, my time was 43:00.

When I was jogging on the treadmill, using my time ON the treadmill, I do 3.1 miles at 4.0 and I do it in about 47 minutes.  Something isn’t adding up here.  When I walk on a treadmill, I’m walking at 3.5.  I walked most of this 5K.  How did I do it 4 minutes less than I do on a treadmill jogging the entire time?  I do think that when I run outside, I’m going faster than I run on the treadmill.  I have a hard time slowing down to conserve energy.  However, I didn’t run all that much.  So, at best, I would think that I MIGHT end up the same as my treadmill time.  So, is the treadmill mileage wrong?  Am I really just walking that much faster when I’m not on the treadmill too?  I REALLY didn’t feel like I was.  And outside, I had to deal with lots of hills.  So, I don’t know.  I’m pretty happy with that TIME considering my expectations from the gym, but I’m not really happy with my performance.  But I can say that after my horrible attempt at running outside earlier in the week, I totally expected this.

The cold made it REALLY tough.  Being realistic, I think if it hadn’t been SO cold I think I might have done a little better, but I’m not sure how much.  I think I might like to try another 5K in the late fall.  I’m hoping I’ll get Em to run outside with me this summer.  We’ll see.

Speaking of Em, Chris and Em finished at 55:something.  They didn’t really look or pay attention.  Anyway, after the race, we picked up free water bottles, high point muffins from a local place, bananas, and smoothie shots.  We didn’t stay for the awards thing and headed home.  Em changed into her soccer outfit and we picked up the chairs that we’d forgotten.  We got to the fields at 9:40am or so for the 10am game.

So, I’m kinda annoyed with our soccer club.  We, once again, played a Select team.  If you aren’t familiar, this is a traveling team.  These teams spend LOTS of money and LOTS of time on soccer.  They have matching backpacks, jackets, balls, etc and the parents all have team shirts.  And that’s fine…I’m not begrudging that.  But MY daughter is on a rec team.  These girls aren’t spending tons of time on soccer.  They practice twice a week and they’re mostly there to have fun and hopefully get a little better along the way.  They should NOT be playing select teams.  They played this same team last season and it was the same result today as then.  They creamed them.  Not to mention that since we didn’t hear from the coach until Monday (totally not on her, this was the club’s thing) and it had rained so much that they actually didn’t get in a practice.  Adding to that, they had 4 new girls on the team that no one else had met!  When they played, you could tell that 2 of the new ones had played before, but I don’t think the other 2 had.  So, with all that, they did get creamed, but I think they played pretty well.  But omg it was so freaking cold out there.  It was BAD.  Worse than at our run earlier and it was snowing then!  I think it was before we were running on surface streets with trees and buildings blocking a lot of the wind.  The soccer fields are up on hills with nothing to block the wind.

Afterwards, we headed to Em’s favorite lunch spot, Canyons.  She relied heavily on the fact that she eats free on Saturdays (kids in sports uniforms) to convince us to go there.  Actually, we like it pretty well too, so we didn’t need a lot of convincing.  After lunch we came home, had showers, and then vegged on the lovely new couch until it was time for them to get ready for the Father/Daughter Dance with Girl Scouts this evening.  Want to see a pic?  They look great:

So, I’m here by myself at home.  I’ve been in PJs since after my shower (along with my 5K tee, of course).  I watched the latest Vaginal Fantasy Hangout and then an eppy of Comic Book Men.  I got nothing now.  I’ll probably read until they come back.  I’ve got a bit of a headache going, so I’m hoping that goes away with sleep.  Tomorrow morning, I plan on heading to the gym and hopefully perking up the courage to try the strength training working out free weights.  Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

Categories

