Posted by: wildflowerz | March 23, 2013

Recipe: Chicken-Tomatillo Quesadilla

I meant to share this earlier in the week, but I kept forgetting!  I dug out my “What to Eat Now” cookbook that I got with the big WW kit you can buy now, along with one of the 15 Minutes Chicken WW cookbooks I found at Publix and decided to try new stuff this week!  The Quesadilla was the only one that was a hit, but I’ll share the other two after the recipe.  It’s pretty darn easy.  It’s actually a recipe for a lunch thing and those are all really simple.  It doesn’t have any weird ingredients in it either, but bugs me to no end.  The only thing I did differently with this recipe is that I used regular Monterey Jack since my grocery store didn’t have any fat free and the only RF they had was in a block.  So since it was only 2 Tbsp, I just got the small bag of the regular.  Oh, I also used RF sour cream instead of FF.  I hate FF dairy products, so I almost never use them. Oh (gee, I made a lot of mods, it seems) I didn’t use cilantro either.  I was experimenting with freezing leftover herbs (shut up, I didn’t know it was a recipe for disaster…I’m not a great cook) and they turned into a slimey mess when they thawed, so I didn’t use it.  I will next time.  Anyway, on to the recipe:

Chicken-Tomatillo Quesadilla

  • 1 (8″) low-fat, low-sodium wheat tortilla
  • 2 Tbsp shredded fat-free Monterey Jack cheese
  • 1/2 cup baby spinach leaves
  • 1/2 cup chopped skinless roast chicken breast
  • 2 Tbsp fat-free tomatillo salsa
  • 1/2 tsp canola oil
  • 1 Tbsp fat-free sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

Sprinkle half of the tortilla with Monterey Jack cheese and then top with spinach, chicken, and salsa.  Fold other half over filling and press down lightly. 

Heat oil in medium nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Place quesadilla in skillet and cook until bottom is crisp, 2-3 minutes.  Flip and cook until other side is crisp and cheese is melted, about 2 minutes.  Top with sour cream and cilantro.

Serves 1.  Per serving:  8 Points Plus, 323 Cal, 7g Total Fat, 1g, Sat Fat, 0g Trans Fat, 64mg Chol, 535mg Sod, 30g Carb, 2g Sugar, 3g Fiber, 34g Prot, 439g Calc.

From What to Eat Now:  150 Recipes, Meal Ideas & More for Your First 12 Weeks on Plan

I made Em’s without the salsa because I could only find medium tomatillo salsa.  Also, on the 2nd two I made, I put half the cheese on one side of the tortilla and the other half on the other side.  On the first one, the side without cheese wouldn’t stick to the tortilla half, so I made the adjustment and it seemed to work better.  Also, I just put the sour cream on the side to dip instead so we could eat it with our hands.  I think if I’d cut it into wedges, it would have fallen apart.

Em first balked and asked if she had to eat it.  My child likes NOTHING that’s not a cheeseburger, pizza, grilled cheese, or mac & cheese. But she has to eat what I cook, though she always tries to get out of it.  However, once she sat down to eat it, she ate half of it with no complaints and it didn’t take her all evening to eat it, so I considered that a success.

I also tried, from the 15 Minute cookbooks, Spinach Chicken Roulades with Lemony Couscous and Pistachio-Crusted Chicken.  First, All three tasted fine.  The couscous was pretty yum, but relatively simple in flavor.  Both the chicken dishes were just okay.  They weren’t bad at all, but they were nothing to write home about.  However, both were giant pain in the ass to make.  First, let’s talk about my grocery store trip.  I needed both pine nuts (for the couscous) and unsalted, shelled pistachios.  Both of those?  Expensive.  I looked ALL over the store for the stupid pine nuts but couldn’t find them.  Eventually I had to ask.  They were in the baking section OR in the produce section, but not with all their other boxed and bagged nuts, but underneath the tomatoes, for no apparent reason.  I found pistachios on the nut aisle, but they were in giant containers and all salted.  I found a GIANT bag of unsalted ones in the produce section and a bunch of smaller bags that were either unsalted or lightly salted.  Okay, no one in our family has anything with salt we need to look our for, so I just got the small bag of lightly salted.  They didn’t have any of the unshelled ones that weren’t the regular salted ones AND in giant bags, so I just shelled them myself.  It was a small bag that ended up being just a tad more than I needed, 3/4 cup.  It took me about 30 minutes to shell them all.  So, yeah.  Now, lets talk about the chicken itself.  Both recipes called for 4 of the 6oz boneless, skinless chicken breasts.  Let me ask you, when have you EVER seen 6oz chicken breasts?  Because they don’t make them.  Again, did I mention I’m not a great cook, so other than hacking away at the breasts to make them the right size, I don’t know what to do about that.  The packages of chicken breasts I found were all 2+ lbs for 3 breasts.  So, in the end I just said fuck it and went with that. For the first recipe, you’ve got the pound the chicken flat, top it with the spinach mixture, and roll it up and stick a tooth pick in it.  I pounded and pounded until I couldn’t get the damn things any flatter.  Once I added all the stuff and rolled it up, I was barely able to make the ends over-lap to pin it with the toothpick.  They were way thicker than they should have been and took twice as long to cook. The second recipe didn’t demand any beating of the chicken, but it took almost twice as long to cook too.  This is why I generally cook with chicken tenderloins.  They’re small and thin and it’s easier to get the right amount you need.

So, there was my cooking adventure for the week.  I’m trying some more new stuff this week, so I’ll let you know how that turns out

Leave a Reply

Categories

