Posted by: wildflowerz | April 19, 2013

Little Rock, Pasternak, Mickey Mantle, Kerouac, Sputnik, Chou En-Lai, “Bridge on the River Kwai.” Lebanon, Charles de Gaulle, California baseball, Starkweather homicide, children of thalidomide.

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 176
Weekly Change: -2.6
Total Loss: 63.2
3rd Goal (10% More): 63lbs – Achievement Unlocked!!!!
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  59
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  8

/danceparty  Woohoo!  Okay, first off, I evidently screwed up my weight last week here for the blog.  I went back and changed that.  The gain was right, I just didn’t have my weight right.  I guess I did it from memory or something, but I changed it to what the WW website says I weighed in at.  Now, on to the celebration!  Yay me!  I was hoping to at LEAST get off the 1.2 I’d gained in the last few weeks.  I didn’t realize that I was really THAT close to the 30% goal, so I never thought I’d make that today.  How awesome!  My leader gave me another 10% key chain since I made another 10%!  Unfortunately, I don’t think she was there when I made 20% or I’d probably have 3 now. XD

The meeting this week was about making your home more activity-friendly.  It was things like keeping your workout clothes next to your alarm clock, putting your ActiveLink next to your toothbrush, always keeping an exercise dvd in your player, hanging your pet’s leash on the door, keeping weights out where you can see them, replacing your chair with an exercise ball, and putting a reward photo on your treadmill or what-have-you.  I have to be honest:  I don’t do most of that.  I do put out my exercise clothes the night before.  And since I wear my AL on my bra, I just clip it to the next day’s sports bra when I go to bed.  But I don’t do the rest.  I rarely do an exercise video.  I also rarely use my home weights and bands and stuff.  I’ve never been much of a reward person (more on that in a minute), so I don’t do that either.  I also am not a big fan of outside exercise, so not so much on the dog walking.  Guys, here it’s hot.  And it doesn’t take much to make me hot.  And there’s bugs and pollen and crap.  You know…nature?  /shudders  🙂  But she also talked about how if you’re an “exercise outside the home” person, how you can make it so you’re more likely to get there.  Other than the 2 things above, what I also do is when I get up in the morning, I put on my exercise clothes before I leave my bedroom.  Weekdays, I get Em’s breakfast and lunch together and get her off on the bus and then drive directly to the gym.  Yes, I drive my kid to the bus stop.  It’s not that far away, but we’re up a hill and around a slight curve.  You can’t actually see the bus stop.  And the hill KILLS me (though probably not so much now).  When it’s cold, she tends to stay in the car until the bus comes.  AND when she does get out when we get there, she doesn’t want me to stand with her.  And recently we had some sicko trying to get kids from the bus stops, so I’m not about to let her go by herself.  Are most of those excuses?  Yup.  But it still works for me, so I don’t really care.  🙂

Speaking of exercise, I’m exhausted.  Earlier this week, on an upper body day, I’d planned on doing intervals on the treadmill after my strength training.  I usually do it 3x and then walk the rest.  I BARELY made it through twice.  But then because I’m so anal about stuff, I went ahead and ran the rest of the mile I was missing so I’d have an even mile to report for the FB challenge I’m doing.  😛  Anyway, about the exhaustion:  I’ve also noticed that I’ve been extremely tired in the evening.  And despite the fact that I normally go to sleep around 10:30 and get up at 6:15 (almost 8 hours), I’ve been ready to go to sleep around 9pm lately.  So, I decided to experiment and see if it’s the excess of strength stuff.  I’m going to go to a pattern of Upper Body and Cardio on Day 1, Lower Body, Abs and Cardio on Day 2, and straight Cardio on Day 3.  Repeat and have a rest day on Day 7.  But since I’m doing the challenge, I’ll still run a mile on Day 7.  It doesn’t take a whole lot of time and just because it’s a rest day doesn’t mean I have to sit on my ass the entire time, yeah?  🙂  Because of WW, I’m keeping Friday as the rest day.  I’ll be moving those days around some this week since we’ve go a 5K at Em’s school on Friday evening.  I’ll definitely make Thursday a rest day and Friday a cardio day.  I think I’m Legs and Abs next, so I’ll probably do that Monday, Cardio Tuesday, then Arms on Wednesday.  Then, I can start Saturday with Legs/Abs and continue from there.  Here’s hoping!

Rewards.  I don’t know if it’s just that I’m not particularly a reward-motivated person or that I just can’t think of any good ideas FOR rewards, so I don’t really think about it in advance.  I usually DO reward myself for meeting goals.  I don’t remember if it was the 50lbs or the 20% or what, but the last big one I did was running shoes.  Granted, I also NEEDED them so I’d have gotten them even if I didn’t have them as a reward, but whatever.  Usually my rewards end up being in the form of clothes.  Today, after I texted Chris about my loss and meeting the 30%, he said congrats and then told me to buy myself something.  Until he said that, the idea of a reward for meeting the goal didn’t even occur to me.  I had to go to Target to get something (which, of course, they didn’t have), so I decided I’d get myself a cute new outfit…maybe nice shorts or a skirt and a dressier top.  Know what I ended up trying on the most of and wanting?  Exercise clothes.  I found a cute pair of shorts with the spandex shorts built in underneath, a pair of spandex capris with a skirt built in on top, a short running skirt with spandex shorts underneath, and a pair of light weight cargo pants (also from the exercise clothes area).  To be fair, I did LOOK in the women’s clothes.  The only shorts I found were either in bright colors I don’t really want on my ass or black or tan, which I already own.  I did want a pair of jean shorts, but I couldn’t find anything cute that fit.  And there weren’t many shirts that were cute and not sleeveless either, so no love there.  In the end, I ended up getting the cargos, a black v-neck tee (ON seems to not have black this year), some super soft sleep/lounge shorts, and 4 pairs of panties.  Yup.

So, I have 2 recipe things to share with you.  The first one was a BIG success.  I did this Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken from Emily Bites.  I’d done this one before, but I used a spicy wing sauce that was honestly too spicy for me.  So this time, I used a bottle of stuff that was described as “milder than mild.”  I like spicy stuff, but I was aiming for Em to be able to eat this too.  Turns out, this was still a tiny bit spicy (though perfect for me).  But it was SO good.  We had it once, then had it last night as leftovers.  Then I just had it for lunch today too!  I served it on a light Flatout wrap with a cup of spinach and a tablespoon of light ranch dressing.  6 P+ for the whole thing.  And it has only 4 ingredients and cooks in the crock pot.  Super win!  The other thing I tried, was cake pops.  Again.  This time, I used the frosting method.  I followed these instructions.  I don’t remember if I blogged about it, though I find it hard to believe I didn’t, it was such a disaster, but I’ve tried cake pops before.  The first time, I tried a cake pop pan.  It was the As Seen on TV one, so you know to avoid that one.  (It was the only one that Joann’s had, which I find incredible since the pops are so popular these days.)  The instructions were shit and the cake got EVERYwhere.  The pans don’t hook together evenly, so one side was off from the other.  They’re more egg shaped than ball shaped, and ginormous.  And only 1 of them came out of the pan without breaking in half.  POS.  So I told Em that we’d try the frosting method at some point later.  Well, we’ve got snacks on Saturday for her soccer game (the one that probably won’t happen because it’s freaking raining today AGAIN!), so I figured we’d try these out.  This method is where you make a cake, crumble it up in a bowl, and then add some frosting to make it stick together.  You mix that up and then form balls with your hands.  You freeze them for 20 minutes and then everything else is the same.  Well, these went together okay.  But I could NOT make an even ball.  So they’re all REALLY lumpy.  I took them out and started dipping them.  Only 1 fell off the stick and to pieces, so that’s good.  But after we’d done about 1/3 of them, it was taking so long that the balls were unfreezing and so the chocolate topping wasn’t hardening.  I didn’t realize until I had about 10 of them sitting there, wet.  When I noticed, I stuck the un-dipped ones back in the freezer and let them freeze back. I then only took out one at a time.  That worked better, but the whole process was still a giant pain in the ass.  The sprinkles went EVERYwhere.  It was just a disaster.  Also, Joann’s had a cake pop holder, for when you’re done dipping and want them to stand up to dry.  It was WAY cheaper than buying a block of styrofoam, so that’s what I did.  However.  The holder didn’t have a bottom.  So, if you picked it up, the pop slid down and the bottom of the pop was sitting on the cardboard at the top, fraking up the candy coating.  Those pops that weren’t hardening?  Leaving them there didn’t help.  So, I ended up sliding a magazine under them so they wouldn’t drop down and then putting the whole thing, magazine included, into the freezer.  I’m never making that crap again.  I did see that they’ve got an electric cake pop maker at Publix for $20 or so, so if someone bought one for Em or I, we might try it again, but that’s about it.  I’m sticking this pop pan in the Goodwill box!

Speaking of Goodwill, we finally got rid of our couch and tv!  Though, it didn’t go to Goodwill.  I have a friend that’s always getting people to come pick up her donation stuff.  I REALLY thought she said it was Goodwill.  But Chris finally called and they don’t do pickups.  So, instead he called Habitat for Humanity and they came yesterday to get the two big items.  Of course, they don’t take all the other random stuff like clothes and stuff, so all that that I’d been piling up for Goodwill is still there.  Of course, I can hall that to a dropoff center myself soon.  I’m just glad the big things are gone!  Speaking of that, I should cut this entry off and go vacuum the living room and dining room now that the big things are gone!

Responses

  1. I have the American Kidney people pick up at my house. I have no idea how to contact them though. They always call me.

    • I had thought you said Goodwill! Oh well. 😛 Chris got Habitat for Humanity to come pick it up. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

