Posted by: wildflowerz | June 1, 2013

Reviews: 3 Products, 2 Recipes, and 1 Tip

I’ve tried a few products lately that I love and wanted to blog about, so I’m adding in a few other things I’ve tried lately too.  So.

Products:

Tree Hut Olive & Shea Coconut Lime Sugar Body Scrub – I was at Target, looking for a sugar scrub to help with the self-tanner I was trying and I found this stuff.  It smells SO FREAKING GOOD.  Guy, I LOVE coconut-smelling stuff, especially for summer.  I don’t like to eat coconut, but I love the smell.  So, I picked up this stuff and it works really well and smells delightful.  I think it was about $8 or so at Target, but all the items from this brand had a sticker coupon on them for $1 off.  However, don’t make the mistake of then getting the lotion in the same scent.  I’m not sure if I got a bad bottle, but the lotion smells like it’s kind of spoiled.  Not like you’ll smell rancid, but the smell is just off, compared to the scrub.

Organix Hydrating Macadamia Oil Intensive Moisture Mask – This one I found on Pinterest.  It’s a hair mask.  It also smells wonderful.  This one I’ve used as an hour-long mask.  I take a shower and wash my hair and then throw some of this on my hair and leave it for an hour.  Then I hop back in the shower to rinse it out.  I have REALLY thin hair and this stuff doesn’t weigh it down in the least.  It leaves my hair smelling really good and really soft.  Love it.  The post I saw said they found it at Target and while I found Organix stuff, they didn’t have this mask.  However, Ulta had it and it was only $6 or so.  That’s WAY cheaper than the hair salon mask I also have.

Suave Naturals Everlasting Sunshine Body Lotion – So, Bath & Body Works and The Body Shop have been around forever.  WHY is it so hard to find different smelling lotions in places like Publix and Target?  They have almost nothing.  So, Em and I had to pick up some stuff for her service project at GS camp next week, so we went and I also wanted some coconutty lotion.  If it’s not cocoa oil smell, there’s not a lot.  Em saw this one and it doesn’t say anything about coconut on the front, but when I smelled it I LOVED it.  It’s not totally coconut…there’s some flowery stuff in there too, but I just love it.  When I use it, I can’t stop smelling my hands.  And it does last for quite a while.

Recipes:

Sesame Chicken from Slender Kitchen – This one goes around all the time on Pinterest.  It’s pretty easy, so I gave it a shot.  It’s only 5 Points Plus/serving too.  First off, fair warning for my mods:  I used regular flour because I don’t have whole wheat and I’m not buying a giant bag for 1 Tbsp.  I also wasn’t going to search for black sesame seeds for 1 Tbsp, so I just used the regular ones instead.  In the end, this was just okay.  There was no real flavor.  And it looks so bland.  We had this on top of brown rice and it just looked so awful and boring.  I saved a serving, but it sat in the fridge and no one ever wanted it, so I threw it out.  It wasn’t bad, but it really wasn’t great.

Buffalo Chicken Enchiladas from Emily Bites – I love Emily Bites.  I follow quite a few light recipe blogs, but I find the most stuff that’s tasty and doesn’t have weird ingredients from Emily Bites.  Again, fair warning for my mods:  I used flour tortillas (low carb kind that had the fewest P+ I could find) because they were lighter than the one corn one they had at Publix.  I also just used light ranch instead of bleu cheese.  We don’t do bleu cheese a whole lot and I didn’t wanna buy a whole thing when we wouldn’t use it.  So, this was SO GOOD.  It was seriously tasty.  I don’t know if it was my mod of changing the tortillas, but the one bad thing is that the bottom of these enchiladas was SO tough, I had a hard time cutting it.  It was better on the re-heat.  Chris loved these too.  The leftovers went away VERY quickly.  We’ll definitely be doing it again.

Tip:

How to Keep Strawberries Fresh – Basically, you use a 1:10 ratio of white vinegar to water and soak the berries in it.  Rinse them and let them dry all the way.  Okay, to just let them dry in a colender, it took forever and I didn’t want to leave the strawberries out of the fridge for that long.  So I ended up putting them back in the fridge.  They tasted like vinegar a little even though the post assures you that they want.  And that taste stayed there.  It wasn’t so bad that I didn’t eat them, but you could still taste it.  I also did it with blueberries and had the same results.  So, yeah.  Don’t recommend it.

Responses

  1. Try checking out Bliss’ Lemon Sage soap. It’s life changing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

