Posted by: wildflowerz | July 23, 2013

Stretch out my life and pick the seams out. Take what you like, but close my ears and eyes. Watch me stumble over and over.

Well, it’s happened.  I’m sitting here, not having exercised at all.  I feel like a slug, but I just can’t make myself do it.  I love having Em here with me, but it really saps my will to exercise.  She goes back two weeks from yesterday, though, so I can’t wait to get back on schedule.  I really just detest exercising anywhere but the gym on a regular basis.  Seriously.

We had a hard time with shoe shopping yesterday!  Em needed some new athletic shoes and I wanted to wait until close to school starting before we got them.  So it was rainy yesterday and we decided to go shopping for them.  It was a mess.  First, I looked at my coupons.  I had them for Dick’s, Sport’s Authority, Off Broadway, and DSW.  They were all $10 off of $50 except for DSW, which was $20 off of $50.  I looked at the end date of the DSW one and it was fine.  I noticed on the way, of course, that there was a beginning date that wasn’t until tomorrow.  /sigh  So we decided to try them on and if we found something she liked, we’d come back Friday after WW.  Before we went, I checked online to see if they had kid’s shoes.  I’m not sure what’s up with Off Broadway and DSW.  DSW sometimes has kid’s shoes and sometimes doesn’t.  Off Broadway has them at the store near the mall, but not the store north of us.  DSW’s website didn’t help, but they had them on their online shop.  When we got there, they had exactly 3 pairs of kid’s shoes.  And they were all plain and ugly.  I asked someone working there and they said they used to have them, but didn’t make money on them.  Now they’re trying them again.  Seriously?  Maybe they don’t sell them because they keep getting them and then getting rid of them.  And how are they going to “try it out” when they’ve only got 3 pair and they’re all ugly?  Anyway, we decided to try out Off Broadway.  It’s out of business.  Gah!  So on to Dick’s we went.  They didn’t have a great selection at all.  There were only 2 pair in Em’s size.  Luckily, she loved how both looked.  The New Balance pair were extremely bright with all sorts of neon colors.  I thought they were hideous, but Em liked them.  The Adidas were mostly bright pink with blue and green accents.  Those were much more comfortable for her and they happened to be $10 cheaper.  We ended up getting her some crazy socks, a cute shirt, and some sneaker odor eater balls.  Afterwards we went to see Turbo.  It wasn’t nearly as dumb as the commercials looked.  I have no desire to see it again, but it was cute enough.

Em went to Taekwondo last night.  Chris has her going every night this week.  She’s got 3 of the 4 stripes she needs to take her test for the first belt color.  They did the tests last Saturday, but they’re doing a makeup date on Friday.  She has to demonstrate that she can do the first form before she can get her last stripe, so Chris has been working with her.  They told her she could come to as many classes as she needed this week since it’s before  the test.  She’s so motivated by that kind of thing.  A clear, defined goal and what exactly she needs to do to get it?  It’s just like AR to her, I think.  🙂

Em’s got a giant list of things she wants to do before school starts and we’re running out of time!  I try to keep going to the movies (other than the $1 ones, which are at 10am) to days when it’s raining, but that’s really hard to plan.  She wants to see Monsters University and Despicable Me again.  We want to go to Tellus.  We’re re-doing her bedroom and need to paint and do all that.  She’s also got a stack of movies at home that she wants to watch.  We’re seeing Deathly Hallows Part 2 on Thursday and we missed part 1 last week, so she wants to watch that.  She just read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator and wants to watch both of the versions of the movie.  Also, I wasn’t keen to go see Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs at the $1 today, so I told her we could just watch it at home.  Next week she’s got a dentist appointment, an orthodontist appointment, and open house!  Gah!

Leave a Reply

Categories

