Posted by: wildflowerz | August 4, 2013

The sun goes down, the stars come out. And all that counts is here and now. My universe will never be the same. I’m glad you came.

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 167.2
Weekly Change:  -0.8
Total Loss: 72.0
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  32
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  25

Holy crap, I’m sore.  More on that in a minute.  🙂  I lost 0.8 this week!  Yay!  I was still slack on exercise this week (as you can see, I only earned 32 APs) and I ate more than what’s been my normal for months (as you can also see, since I ate 25 of my WPs).  We went to this Irish place near us and I got a panini.  Not a great choice, but there wasn’t a whole lot on the menu that looked decent and palatable.  Meh.

The meeting this week was about getting back on track after a slip up.  Mostly we ended up talking about how they’ve got No Weigh-In passes and you can come to the meeting and not weigh in.  That’s so not for me.  Personally, I feel like I’ve got to own up to whatever I did by weighing before I can move on.  I spent most of last summer avoiding WW and weighing in.  It didn’t help.  I’ve toyed with doing a No Weigh In pass a few times, but I always end up weighing in anyway.  But everyone’s different.  For me, I have to face it to move on.  My leader told me about a million times at the meeting that I needed to submit an entry for this contest WW is doing now.  It’s called the Weight Watchers 50 Years of Success Contest.  You get to even create your own prize for the grand prize.  And they’re doing several grand prizes.  Anyway, I figured I’d try to do that this week.

The past few weeks I’ve sucked at the exercise.  I’ll try not to beat a dead horse with that, but I’ve really only been doing cardio when I have exercised.  So, since Em’s going back to school tomorrow, I worked up a “new” strength program and am trying to switch up my cardio some.  I’ve gotten into a cardio rut.  It’s not entirely unwanted.  Running burns more calories for the time spent, so it’s hard for me to do anything else.  It’s just the most efficient.  But I do realize that you shouldn’t just do one thing.  So.  Here’s what my new exercise plan is:

Cardio:

  • Run for 45 minutes, Walk for 15 OR
  • Run for 15 minutes, Walk for 5, Elliptical for 40 OR
  • Running intervals for 30-40 minutes, Walk for 20-30 minutes

Strength:

  • Upper Body – Hammer Curl, Overhead Extensions, Bent Over Row, Tricep Kickback, Lateral Raise, Tricep Dips, Curl Machine, Chest Press Machine, Lat Pulldown Machine, Tricep Dip Machine, and Shoulder Press Machine
  • Lower Body – Plank, Bicycle Crunches, Lying Toe Touches, Lying Leg Raises, Clamshells, Inner Thigh Lifts, Squats, Plie Squats, Leg Curl Machine, Leg Press Machine, Leg Extension Machine, Ab Machine

I’m just going to alternate those.  Yesterday I did arms and running for 45 minutes.  OMG I hurt today.  I think the laying off strength training caught up with me.  My chest, mainly, is killing me.  I was mostly okay through the strength stuff, but when I went to run my upper arms/chest hurt SO BADLY.  I pushed through it and did the 15m run.  Then, I went on to the elliptical.  I did give myself a break there and just did no arms for the entire 40 minutes.  Supposedly, doing that with your arms at your sides works your abs.  I can’t really tell, but that’s what “they” say.  🙂

Em had her school’s Open House on Thursday.  I was getting info on two of her best friend’s teachers (and one of their little brothers!) too, so I snapped pics of all those class lists.  Luckily, one of her best friends is in her class!  Yay!  This is a newer friend.  They were in class together last year.  Another one of her good friends is also in her class.  This girl, she’s never had a class with, so she’s excited about that.  There’s also another girl from her class last year, who’s also in her Girl Scout troop as well as two boys that she’s friends with.  That’s crazy because as a whole, she’s not into boys as friends in the least.  She does insist that these are just friends, though.  She also has a girl in her class that I don’t know much about personally, but I’ve heard some stuff.  However, I’m not sure I trust the source, so we’ll see.  The girl (or possibly just the girl’s mom) evidently is very quick to call up the race card to get whatever she wants.  I heard she did it last year to get her kid into a certain teacher’s class.  The teacher last year is one of the only black teachers in the school and she’s supposed to be an amazing teacher.  Em’s teacher this year is one of the other black teachers.  He’s also one of only two male teachers…at least of the regular teachers.  One of the PE coaches is also male.  They even have a new principal this year and now she’s female, instead of the male they’ve had for quite a while.  Anyway, I’ve heard good stuff about Em’s teacher this year.  From what I’ve also heard, he evidently is another one of the “not much homework” teachers.  So, that should be good.  We’ll have to see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

