Posted by: wildflowerz | September 4, 2013

Book Recs: Juvenile Books

So, here’s the list I promised.  Most of these recs I got from a panel on the Young Adult Literature track at DragonCon called Stuck in the Middle.  A very few I got from a panel on the Kaleidescope track called Read-a-Likes.  When there’s a link and it’s a series, it will link to the first one.  Also, the AR level will be for the first one.  So, here they are, in no particular order:

That’s all I have.  I didn’t make note of ones that I knew Em already had, but off the top of my head, I remember Dragon Slippers and Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George.  Also, we can highly recommend the Darwen Arkwright series by AJ Hartley.  It was also mentioned.  Only the first of that series is AR, but the entire series is out now.  The track director of the YA track also said she’d be putting these lists up that came from their panels, but my experience is that it either never happens or happens so much later that I’ve forgotten about it.  However, here’s the link to that track.

Happy Reading!


Responses

  1. Awesome. Ben read Jedi Academy today. Sort of a graphic novel/journal mix like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I wasn’t impressed but he devoured it. It’s very “boy”. I am actually currently reading him The Book of Three because I was obsessed with the Prydain series when I was his age. Must have read them a dozen times but I’m not sure he’s loving it. He seems to prefer Urban Fantasy to the Sword and Sorcery type. The Dark is Rising is another one I read several times growing up. Thanks for the list! Lots of stuff to wade through here.

    • One panel I went to was a lot about how to GET your kids to read when they’re reluctant and a big thing was the more picture-heavy books like Wimpy Kid, etc. Obviously that wasn’t my problem, so I mostly ignored those kind of suggestions. But Em does like those type of books too and if she likes it, I’m happy for her to read it. 🙂 Of those above, the only one’s I’ve actually read are the first two Darwens, Tuesdays at the Castle, and Leviathan (which I hated, but I did love his Pretties series). 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

