Posted by: wildflowerz | November 3, 2013

We clawed, we chained our hearts in vain. We jumped never asking why. We kissed, I fell under your spell. A love no one could deny.

Well, hello there!  I’m kind of excited, so I thought I’d share with you.  As a family, we did a Pirates & Princesses 5K on Saturday morning.  The cause for this one was childhood obesity.  Chris even agreed to do it with us.  Em was going to hang with Chris and probably walk most of it.  But you know what she did?  She ended up running the ENTIRE thing!  She came in at jut under 40 minutes.  Chris finished close to an hour.  What about me?  My goal was, as always, run as much of it as I could.  As you undoubtedly know, I run exclusively on the treadmill.  I’m not an outdoors person at ALL, so I generally only run outside when we’re doing a 5K.  So, I was able to run the entire first mile before I started walking some.  I knew I was pretty afar ahead of my slow treadmill time because I’ve been using the same playlist, not on shuffle.  But I was super surprised that in the end, my time was 36:56!  That’s a big improvement for me!  My last one was just over 42 minutes.  Yay!  Also, I finally ordered the correct size tee.  This race did the dryfit tees, which I love.  I ordered large, even though I generally wear a medium in regular men’s sizes, which is usually what they use for these.  When I went to pick them up, they had women’s sizes, which I didn’t realize.  But the large women’s fit PERFECTLY!  I’m surprised.  Usually in women’s sizes, I wear an XL or even an XXL!  Awesome.

On the downside, my ass hurts like crazy today.  I went to the gym, but my plan to do intervals full force, didn’t go well.  I ended up doing two rounds of the running intervals I normally do and then walking the rest of the time.  Yeah.  At least I did something, I suppose.  Anyway, after our 5K yesterday, we headed to the soccer fields around midday for Em’s soccer game.  They won again, 8-1.  Em did really well too.  Yesterday evening, we went out for steak because Chris finished a big project at work.  I had a nice, low Points+ chicken meal.  Yay me.

Today we went to see Ender’s Game.  I really wasn’t too sure of this one before we went.  There’s that whole mess with what an asshat the author is.  And it’s been ages since I read it, so I’d forgotten most of it.  But, it was really good.  All three of us liked it. We’d previously tried to listen to the audiobook with Em on a road trip, but she wasn’t into it.  She liked the movie so well that she’s planning on reading it over Thanksgiving break.  We also decided that she might be up to watching The Hunger Games.  That one she wants to read first and wants to do it over Christmas.  I’ll see if I can work on that so we can all go see it in the theatre, if she’s down with the first one.  We’ll see.

We’ve got a heavy week this week, but lighter than our normal heavy weeks.  That made no sense, I’m sure.  Em’s got Girl Scouts and TKD on Monday.  Tuesday she’s out of school, so we’ll go vote and then head to the used book store.  Yay!  Wednesday, she’s got soccer practice, but I can’t imagine we’ll stay for the whole thing.  She practices from 5:30-7 and it’s been getting REALLY dark close to 7.  With the time change, I can’t imagine they’ll be able to see!  Thursday, Em’s doing reading bowl practice and TKD.  She wants a friend to sleepover either Monday night or Friday or Saturday night.  I haven’t heard back from the mom yet, so I don’t know about that.  It so drives me nuts when people won’t get back to me.  And this mom is AWFUL about that.  Drives me crazy.  Granted, right now THIS time, I just emailed her yesterday.  But she always waits until the absolute last minute to let me know anything, so I don’t expect to hear from her until the day before or the day of the day she decides.  Grrr!

We’re almost done with soccer and I’m so looking forward to a much lighter schedule.  Em’s got a game on Saturday and then their last game (which was supposed to be the following Saturday) is going to be the next Tuesday.  So instead of practice that day, we’ll have the game.  Then, since that will be the last game, there’s no need for practice on Wednesday.  The following Tuesday they’ll have their end of season party.  That also works so we won’t be rushed on the Saturday they should have had the game…Em’s got belt testing that morning for TKD.  Whew!

Leave a Reply

Categories

