Posted by: wildflowerz | December 22, 2013

I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping down the stairs. Oh what joy and what surprise, when I open up my eyes to see a hippo hero standing there.

So, Em had her first ever Taekwondo Tournament yesterday.  Obviously we’ve no experience in this, so we had no idea how it was supposed to go or what would happen at all.  Em’s just recently moved up to camo belt, so she’s JUST started actually sparring.  She’s taken two of the sparring-focused classes, but other than that, they’ve not done it a lot in class.  And she’s only been a camo belt 3 or so weeks.  So, I wasn’t sure how the sparring portion would go.  She competed in forms and in sparring.  There was also the option to compete in weapons sparring and a weapons form.  She’s used “weapons” (read:  shortened pool noodles) in class only once, so we didn’t even think about that.  And she’s no idea about a weapons form…is that for higher belts?  No idea.  So…just competing in two categories.

When we got there, they separated them.  It appeared that they were separated by age or height.  Em’s group only had 4 kids in it.  One was a girl a year younger than her.  One was a boy who looked to be about 5-6.  And one was a girl who looked to be her age or maybe a year older.  Em was the lowest belt.  They did forms first, including the scoring.  Another girl went first and I didn’t note what she scored.  Em went and got straight 9.7s across the board.  (9.9’s the highest.)  The last girl scored just below Em.  And the boy scored much lower.  They then did sparring.  How that worked is that they paired them up and the loser of the first two matches each got 3rd place.  Em’s match was tied at 4-4 at the end of the time limit, so the next to score won.  The other girl won, so Em got 3rd.  In the 1st/2nd place last match, the girl that Em sparred with slaughtered the other girl 11-1.  So, I think if they’d been paired up differently, Em might have taken 2nd.  She really did well and I was SO proud of her.  Especially considering how little practice with sparring she has!  They then did the weapons form and sparring.  After that, they awarded the medals.  They did forms first and Em got 1st place!  How exciting!  All her hard work is paying off!  All the medals for the different events were 4 different colors, but all the same shape.  I don’t know if you can tell, but there’s a little tab on each one and that’s a magnet.  So if you place in all 4 categories, it will go together to make the Songahm image.  And if you’re interested in Songahm, here’s the link for that.  So it was really cool.  I was so proud of her!  Now TKD’s even closed until the new year, so we’ve got a TOTAL vacation from everything for a week and a half or so.  Yay!

After her tournament, we went to Steak & Shake for lunch.  It was Em’s choice.  We came home and chilled for a while.  At 5, I took her over to a friend’s house to spend the night and then when I came back, we played Cards Against Humanity with some friends after dinner.  We ordered dinner from this “new” wing place near us.  Chris and one of our friends ordered calzones.  They came with salsa.  No, really.  It was weird.  The rest of the food was fine, but yeah.  After the game, we watched Love Actually.  Awww.  I just love that movie.

Today, we’re being super lazy.  I woke up with a headache, so I skipped the gym.  I know, I know.  I should have gone anyway, but lately, I seem to be getting headaches more often and the gym really is making it worse.  I hope it goes away later and I can make it there, but this super rainy weather isn’t making that any easier.  So, I made the zucchini brownies and then Em and I made sugar cookies.  Later I’ll make the red velvet cheese ball and we should be totally done.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

Categories

