Posted by: wildflowerz | January 1, 2014

2013 Book Post

Overall Stats:

  • Total Books Read:  206 (17 less than last year)
  • Total Pages Read:  73,938 (11,264 less than last year)
  • Total Number of Books from a Series 135 or 66% (last year was 156 or 70%)
  • Average Length of Book:  359 pages (382 pages last year)
  • Author Most Read:  Julia Quinn & Eloisa James (Julia Quinn last year)

Books Read by Month:

  • January:  13 (6%)
  • February:  20 (10%)
  • March:  19 (9%)
  • April:  17 (8%)
  • May:  12 (6%)
  • June:  18 (9%)
  • July:  17 (8%)
  • August:  18 (9%)
  • September:  18 (9%)
  • October:  21 (10%)
  • November:  19 (9%)
  • December:  14 (7%)

Last year, my biggest months were February, June, and October.  This year, it’s February and October.

Books Read by Category:

  • Classics:  0 (0%)
  • Fantasy:  14 (7%)
  • Fiction:  29 (14%)
  • Graphic Novels:  1 (0%)
  • Historical Fiction:  0 (0%)
  • Juvenile:  11 (5%)
  • Memoir:  1 (0%)
  • Mystery:  26 (13%)
  • Nonfiction:  6 (3%)
  • Romance:  26 (13%)
  • Science Fiction:  12 (6%)
  • Supernatural:  43 (21%)
  • Suspense:  2 (1%)
  • Young Adult:  35 (17%)

This year, as opposed to last year, I read more Supernatural and General Fiction, but less Juvenile, Mystery, and Romance.

Books by Source:

  • Borrowed:  1 (0%)
  • Library:  60 (29%)
  • Owned:  58 (28%)
  • Owned/Kindle:  87 (42%)

The Borrowed number didn’t change a whole lot for me.  The Library number is also fairly static, though I didn’t borrow any Kindle books from the library this year.  But I read a lot more books on my Kindle this year than the previous year.  I’m attributing that to reading much more while on the treadmill, as well as the Vaginal Fantasy Book Club.  Quite often, my library doesn’t have those books, so I usually end up picking them up on the Kindle.

Books by Rating:

  • A+:  3 (1%)
  • A:  16 (8%)
  • A-:  8 (4%)
  • B+:  23 (11%)
  • B:  17 (8%)
  • B-:  22 (11%)
  • C+:  30 (15%)
  • C:  16 (8%)
  • C-:  23 (11%)
  • D+:  21 (10%)
  • D:  6 (3%)
  • D-:  11 (5%)
  • F:  10 (5%)

Last year, the number of crappy book (D+ and lower) numbered at 47 books, comprising 21% of what I read.  This year I read 48 stinkers that comprised 23%.  So that stayed mostly the same.  Probably still all those crappy free Kindle books.   In the same area, I only read 27 (or 13%) of A rated books this year and last year, I read 39 (or 17%).  I think here’s where it comes in that I’ve been reading shorter, fluffier stuff to get to my goal and have compromised on quality.  The mid-grade books in the Bs and Cs are pretty much the same, this year to last year.

Best Books of the Year:

  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Book Store by Robin Sloan
  • Just What Kind of Mother Are You? by Paula Daly
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

Sad.  And one of those is a re-read!

Worst Books of the Year:

  • Sins of a Wicked Duke by Sophie Jordan
  • NOS4A2 by Joe Hill
  • The Trouble with Spells by Lacey Weatherford
  • The Soulkeepers by GP Ching
  • The Emerald Talisman by Brenda Pandos
  • First Impressions by Debra White Smith
  • Longbourn by Jo Baker
  • Murder on Monday by Ann Purser
  • The Darkest Knight by Gena Showaler
  • The Last Vampire by Christopher Pike

Ug.  On the plus side, I only bought one of those and it was at a used book store.  Two I got at the library.  And the rest were free Kindle books.  Yeah.

This year, I also kept up with my DNF books.  Those were so bad that I couldn’t finish them.  But hated them so much that I gave them 1 star at Goodreads and Shelfari and marked them as Read.  They don’t show up in my book count though.  Here they are:

  • The Summer Tree by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • Heir to the Everlasting by Janice Daugharty
  • Downbelow Station by CJ Cherryh
  • The Mirror of Her Dreams by Stephen R. Donaldson
  • Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James
  • The Misremembered Man by Christina McKenna
  • Hollywood Sinners by Peter Joseph Swanson
  • Nightwalker by Jocelynn Drake
  • The Wizard of Time by GL Breedon
  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
  • Lord of the Fading Lands by CL Wilson
  • Swordspoint by Ellen Kuchner
  • Flatscreen by Adam Wilson
  • The Emporer’s Children by Claire Messud
  • Doctor Sleep by Stephen King
  • Disenchanted by Robert Kroese
  • The Understorey by Fisher Amelie

There you go.  That’s my reading for 2013.  Have you read anything amazing?  Or anything you hated so much you felt you needed to warn others away from?  If you’re interested in my mini reviews on the books I read, check out the Goodreads or Shelfari links to the right.

Responses

  1. This is awesome!!!! I always look forward to your reading list.
    Happy New Year!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

