Posted by: wildflowerz | January 1, 2014

Begin as You Mean to Go On

Happy New Year everyone!  How was your year?  How was your NY Eve?  All were pretty good here, but more on that in another post!  It’s time for my NY Resolutions post.  First, I’ll revisit last year’s and see how well I did.  Here we go:

2013 New Year’s Resolutions:

 

  • Continue with WW and lose 42.8lbs by the end of the year, getting to my doctor-set goal of 150.  

I did continue with WW and I haven’t given up (or even gotten close to giving up), but I’m not doing fabulously.  I’ve been stuck a lot recently and the holidays have also gotten to me.  I’ve been in the same weight decade for MONTHS and I’m still hungry all the time with no idea how to help that.  But, here’s what I have done:  I’ve lost 27.4lbs this year.  I’ve lost 14″ and 2 clothes sizes.  I’m in the smallest size I’ve been since….middle school probably.  I feel much better overall.  I’m still struggling every day (sometimes every minute), but I’m trying hard and I’m not giving up.

  • Continue to work out at the gym, at least 5 days a week.  I want to continue working on strength, but reserve the right to re-evaluate HOW I’m doing it, if better information is found.

Nailed it.  I’m going to the gym 5x a week MOST of the time (and I’m not talking just over 50%!).  If I had to guess, I’d say that unless I was sick, I went to the gym 5x a week every week but maybe 2 or 3.  I aim for 6x, but with the volunteering at Em’s school, I’m unable to make it in on Wednesdays.  So instead I do a workout video or some such.  I’m continuing with the strength stuff, periodically switching it up.  I mostly run because I can’t find anything else that’s as efficient at burning calories, though I’d dearly love to find something else.  I like running, but I’m bored.

  • Finish the Couch to 5k program at 6.0mph.  At the end, increase my time or speed until I can actually complete a 5K.  Then, and this is kind of scary to me, do an actual 5K!

I’m counting this one as mostly a win.  My goals have changed a bit for me throughout the year, so technically I didn’t complete this one.  Basically, I don’t really care how fast I run.  I’ve spent the year mostly just jogging at a 4.0.  I can complete a 5k on the treadmill running the entire thing, though usually I add some breaks in there (while still actually running 3miles total).  I’ve recently tried to add in some more interval training and am working my way up to running at the speeds the interval workout calls for.  It’s definitely challenging, but I’m working on it.  I also completed not 1, but 4 5ks this past year.  Our whole family did the Chasing Cancer Away 5K in early March and the Pirate & Princess 5K in late October/early November.  Em and I also did the Run for the Stars 5K (for Em’s school) in May and the Reindeer Run in early December.  I was pretty proud that through our first three runs, I continue to decrease my time.  In our last one, I was a little slower, though I ran with my girly, who’s got shorter legs.  We also signed up for another 5K in late March, but the weather prevented us from completing it.  I wouldn’t mind attempting one a month, but we’re coming up empty on one for January.  I’m picky about which ones we do also.  Mostly I want it to be close (preferably in our county) and who benefits from it.  So we’ll just play it by ear.  I also don’t think I’d be too keen to do them during the summer.  But again, we’ll see.

  • Continue to work on being less judgmental.

I’m not sure I really did this.  It’s an ongoing process.

  • Read 200 books again this year.

Done.  I read 206 books this year.  More on my book list in another post.

  • Finish and/or read these books:
  1. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  2. Fool’s Errand by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #1)
  3. Golden Fool by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #2)
  4. Fool’s Gate by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #3)
  5. Legacy by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #2)
  6. Passage by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #3)
  7. Horizon by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #4)
  8. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  9. Lorna Doone by RD Blackmore
  10. The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
  11. Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
  12. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

I sucked at this.  I have a reason.  I don’t know if I was reading more slowly this year or what, but I had a hard time meeting my monthly goals in order to get to my 200.  As a consequence, I shied away from picking up many of the more substantial books like the ones that make up this list.  I ended up reading a lot more romance and supernatural fiction so I could make my goal.  I wasn’t really happy about it, but by the time I realized what was happening, it was reasonably close to the end of the year, so I figured I’d go ahead with my current goals and revise for the next year.  So more on that later.  But, of the list above, I read Fool’s Errand by Bujold and Old Man’s War by Scalzi.  I know.  Kind of pathetic, huh?  🙂  I picked up Les Mis again a few times, but I just CAN NOT get into it.  I even bought the most recent version of the movie, hoping it would spur me on, but I’m not sure what everyone else saw in that movie because I thought it was HORRIBLE.  So, there’s that.

So, that’s how this past year went.  I’m fairly happy with my progress on most things and I think I did reasonably well.  Now, on to this year’s list!

2014 New Year’s Resolutions:

  • Continue with Weight Watchers and lose 19.4lbs to get to my goal weight of 146.

Okay, so my doctor said at my last checkup to go ahead and aim for the WW-suggested maximum weight of 146 instead of the 150 that he’d previously told me to shoot for.  Now, I’m not keen on arbitrary numbers in general, but I looked at it as I need something to aim for and it seemed like a good place to start.  The 146 from WW comes from the BMI charts.  It’s the top weight for my height that will put the in a healthy BMI.  I’ve always figured that once I get close to my goal, I’d re-evaluate where I’m at and how I feel and if I need to, I’d get a doctor’s note for the weight I’m at in order to make Lifetime.  While I’ve been struggling for A WHILE, I don’t feel like I’m as low as I need to be.  And I don’t think I’ve got unrealistic expectations for myself, so I’m going to continue with how I’ve been going.  I still believe that, for me, WW is the way to go.  I’m at a bit of a loss since my WW leader left, but I’ll figure it out.

  • Continue to work out 5x a week.

I’ll be re-evaluating my gym membership when it’s up in April, though I’ll almost definitely continue with a gym, it just might not be the one I’m at now.  I’d love to find some different things to do to relieve my boredom. So, I’m reserving the right to work out somewhere other than at the gym, though I’ll probably continue to do so.

  • Do at least 4 5Ks this year.

I’m enjoying them, especially in the colder weather.  So this year, I definitely plan on doing the Run for the Stars 5K in April/May and I hope to do the Reindeer Run again in December.  I’d like to find a couple more to do this year too.

  • Read.

Yeah, I know.  I’m still going to keep track of my reading and I’m going to still aim for 200 books this year, but I’m not going to do it at the expense of the really good books I’ve been avoiding in order to make my quota.

  • Read the following books:
  1. Golden Fool by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #2)
  2. Fool’s Gate by Robin Hobb (Tawny Man #3)
  3. Beguilement by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #1)
  4. Legacy by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #2)
  5. Passage by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #3)
  6. Horizon by Lois McMaster Bujold (The Sharing Knife #4)
  7. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  8. Lorna Doone by RD Blackmore
  9. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  10. Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

Yes, most of those are from my list last year.  I’ve omitted Les Mis.  And I added the first Sharing Knife book.  I tried to start the second one this morning, but I couldn’t remember anything much about the first one, so I’m going to have to re-read it.  In addition to these, I’d like to clear out some of these big hardbacks that have taken up space on my shelves for ages and ages.  I’m going to try and tackle them and hopefully create some space!

So, there you have it.  Jenn’s New Year’s Resolutions.  What are your’s?  Do you make them?

Leave a Reply

Categories

