Posted by: wildflowerz | January 4, 2014

Weight Watchers Simple Start

It occurred to me after I finished my Friday Weigh In post, but I didn’t mention my actual WW meeting at all.  Then I got busy and forgot about it.  Then, I had a full on freak out about the topic of said meeting and decided I should make a blog post on it. 😛

If you watched the Dick Clark (etc, etc, etc on that title) NY Eve show, among other things, you’d know that Weight Watchers is pushing something new called Simple Start.  That link should work…I logged out of my account so I could get a link that worked.  They’re touting it as a start to your weight loss journey that takes the thinking out of the plan and makes it super easy and simple to start you off.  They make it sound like it’s really something new, but I’m going to tell you that it’s not.

Now, before I get to how this affects me personally, I want to tell you that I think this is a good program.  The Simple Start (aka Simply Filling aka Core) is a way of eating that focuses on healthy, non-processed foods.  It’s how we all should be eating.  There’s absolutely nothing wrong with this program in the least and for joining Weight Watchers members, it probably does seem easy and simple.

But I’m here to tell you that for a veteran WW who’s been attending now for over 2 years, it gave me fits.

Okay, so what is it?  If you’re unfamiliar with the Simply Filling plan (or the old Core plan), that’s really what it is, though that’s not how my leader presented it.  It’s presented in a new booklet that’s got a bunch of meal ideas.  They start with breakfast and give you a dozen or so ideas, including how to change each one and ideas for what to do if you’re eating at a restaurant for those meal ideas.  Then, at the end of the section, they have a kind of mix and match thing you can do instead (Choose 1 grain from here, 1 protein from here, etc etc).  They do the same for lunch and for dinner.  Then, you have the Indulgences.  These are things you have to count Points + for.  They can be things like ice cream, chocolate, or wine that would be truly called indulgences.  Or they can be things like having flavored greek yogurt or cream in your coffee.  You get to have 7 P+ a day.  The way it works in Simply Filling (and is how these extra points work for the regular WW plan too) is you get 49 a week.  Yes, that math works out, but the Simple Start puts it like you get 7 a day.  See the difference?  Of course, when you’re new to a weight loss plan, you’re probably not going to be doing big meals out like you would later in a plan, but still.  It’s worth noting.  Anyway, then the book gives you a few cooking for dummies cooking instructions for the things they’ve mentioned and then a shopping list.  Also, I didn’t mention, there are no portion sizes.  You eat until you’re full, so you don’t have to actually measure anything, but the Indulgences.

I’m a Points girl.  I never really gave Core a shot or it’s spawn, Simply Filling.  There are several reasons.  I’m not a great cook.  And I like for things to be very easy to make or put together.  I certainly don’t want to have to cook breakfast or lunch.  I want it to be something I can grab and eat, especially since I’m just cooking for myself.  Dinners have gotten to be a lot like that too with all Emily’s activities.  I just don’t have the time or energy for all that mess.  And if you’re eating a lot of non-processed foods, you’re going to have to cook it.  There are very few things that are simple or easy to make.  But still.  I figured I’d give it a shot.  I sat down with my Simple Start book and proceeded to have heart palpitations.  It freaked me out.  I had almost none of this stuff in my kitchen.  It was the weekend, so I was even running out of fruit.  Our anniversary is on Wednesday so we’d be going out to eat then.  I decided I’d cut my stress and plan on just trying this on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday.  I’d plan better for next week.  So, I planned those meals and stuck to things that were the easiest and/or closest to what we already eat.

Don’t get me wrong:  I like to try new things.  And unless it’s an uber busy week, I try to figure in at least one or two new recipes each week to try.  But a COMPLETELY NEW MENU?  It freaks me out.  So, after I planned it, I decided I’d go ahead and give that day a shot.  I’d already had regular greek yogurt and chia seeds, so I’d already used 4 of my P+ for Indulgences.  But we do Wendy’s on Friday nights and I’m SO FREAKING TIRED OF WENDY’S, so I’ve just been eating stuff at home.  I have some of my chili in the fridge from earlier in the week and it happens to be Simply Filling.  So, I survived.  But I was hungry all day long.  So, what did I eat?  Here’s yesterday:

Breakfast: Greek Yogurt (3), 2T chia seeds (1), hard boiled egg, banana

Lunch:  hamburger patty, 1 cup mixed vegetables with 1/2t evoo

Snack:  apple, hamburger patty, diet coke

Dinner:  chili, 2T sour cream, banana

Snack:  popcorn, WW Dulce de Leche bar (3)

Yeah.  So, because I’m me, I tracked it all anyway, even though you don’t have to.  I had my 7 Indulgence P+ for the Simply Filling plan, but if I’d been doing the regular P+ plan, I’d have had 27 P+.  That’s only 1 more than I normally have.

This morning, after the gym, I stopped by Kroger and tried to pick up a few things to hopefully just do as many meals as I can in the Simple Start thing.  I picked up some more bananas and apples, light english muffins, light sandwich rounds, a container of regular greek yogurt, and some veggie burger patties.  All that’s Simply Filling.  (The veggie burgers have to have less than 2g of fat to qualify.  From my looking, only the original and bruschetta Boca patties quality.)  So for breakfast this morning, I had 2 scrambled eggs with a cup of spinach, some salsa, and some veggie cheese.

Digression:  Speaking of cheese.  Fat free cheese is the only one that’s Simply Filling.  Where the hell do you find this?  I looked all over Kroger and couldn’t find any, not even slices.  I wanted shredded.  No blocks either.  I remembered that veggie cheese counted too, but mistakenly thought it was all veggie cheese.  It’s just the FF kind…which I also couldn’t find.  Also, where the hell is cottage cheese?  I’ve never actually eaten it.  It looks and sounds revolting.  But I figured I’d give it a shot.  Nothing ventured and all that.  But I couldn’t find it either. I figured it would be near the yogurt or sour cream.  I looked all over the dairy section and couldn’t find anything.  I’ll try again at Publix on Monday, but seriously.

Anyway, for lunch today, I did a veggie burger with a salad.  (Also, only FF salad dressing is Simply Filling.  I don’t own any and the stuff I’ve tried has been revolting.  But I’ll find something else to try on Monday.  In the mean time, you can do evoo and vinegar.  It wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t great.  For the record, I used balsamic.)  I just had a snack of the plain greek yogurt with some Stevia (took 1.5 tsp to make that palatable) with some frozen blueberries.  So, there’s that.  I’d assume we’re eating out for dinner, though I don’t know what.  I’ll do my best to find something that works, but if it doesn’t, I’m not going to stress.  I also journaled what I’ve eaten today and I’ve still got 14 P+ left, which is what I normally have.  But I still feel SO FREAKING HUNGRY.  I’m about to go eat an apple, but I doubt that will put a dent in the hunger.

Also, why wouldn’t chia seeds be Simply Filling.  Anyone know?

Leave a Reply

Categories

