Posted by: wildflowerz | April 18, 2014

What an idiot. (Read that with Hermione’s voice, if you please.)

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 163.4
Weekly Change:  +0.6
Total Loss: 74.8
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  35
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  37?

That subject line up there?  That’s me I’m referring to.  You know how sometimes people complain about faults in other people when they really just can’t see that they do the EXACT SAME THING?  And you can’t figure out why they don’t see it?  Well, hello there.  I’m Jenn.  And I can’t see my nose for my face.  /sigh  What am I talking about?

You know those silly mantras that people who are trying to lose weight use?  Some are just stupid, like “Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels.”  Blech.  Most of them are stupid and silly and trite, but most of them are true.  (Not the aforementioned one, obvs, but a lot of them.)  But there are two silly ones I’m thinking of that I’ve never really touted, but I certainly believed.  Know what they are?

I’ve seen friends doing the same thing, day in and day out, and getting crappy results.  But they don’t change anything and still can’t figure out what the problem is.  I’m not going to lie, I thought they were crazy.  They couldn’t see that the problem was that they weren’t changing!  I don’t know why I couldn’t see it in myself.  Maybe I just didn’t want to change, so I ignored it?

Well, this morning, at Weight Watchers, I weighed in with the receptionist who’s also a leader.  I gained again this week and she mentioned that most of the time to break a plateau, you’ve really got to make a drastic change in what you’re doing.  I don’t know why it took that to hit me, but that’s my problem!  I eat the same things every day/week.  I do the same workout, with only little changes.  I’ve felt that my workout has gotten stale for a while, but I never really thought about the food part.

So, it’s time for a change.  That’s where you come in, if you’d be so kind.  Throw me your meal ideas, your exercise ideas…whatever you have.  I plan on continuing on as I have been at least, for the weekend.  I don’t have anything different around the house to make drastic changes, so I’ll take the weekend to start figuring it out.  I’ll probably head back to the Simple Start book and get some ideas from there.  Basically for food, I just want to try DIFFERENT stuff.  For exercise…I really don’t know.  I change up my strength training relatively often.  But for cardio?  I like doing it at the gym.  It works for me to get out of the house and do it first thing in the morning.  But cardio options at the gym include the treadmill, the elliptical, the stationary bike and recumbent bike, and a stairmaster.  I run most days.  It’s more efficient at calorie burn and Activity Point earning.  If I run for at least 30 minutes, I’m guaranteed to earn 6 APs for a day, no matter how slothful I am the rest of the day.  But if I run less than that, or not at all, I’ll almost never earn 6 (or more) APs, no matter how active I am.  I don’t know.  I’ll probably try and do more HIIT workouts.  And maybe run outside more until it gets warmer.  Maybe this summer, I can get Em to go with me, maybe to the local park with all the trails.  We’ll see.  I’m totally open to suggestion and really welcome it.  Requests of this type have fallen on deaf ears every other time I’ve tried, but I guess I can’t break the habit of doing the same thing and expecting different results, huh?  ;-\

Leave a Reply

Categories

