Posted by: wildflowerz | May 30, 2014

I’d like to make myself believe that planet Earth turns slowly. It’s hard to say that I’d rather stay awake when I’m asleep ’cause everything is never as it seems.

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 164.0
Weekly Change:  -0.6
Total Loss: 75.2
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  21
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  No idea

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 167.2
Weekly Change:  +3.2
Total Loss: 72.0
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  30
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  No idea

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 167.8
Weekly Change:  +0.6
Total Loss: 71.4
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  12
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  No idea

I suck.  I haven’t blogged any for the past three weeks.  And I’ve not tracked a whole lot.  I’ve been eating a lot of crap.  And I’ve gained a lot.  I have no excuse.  I’m hungry and I’ve REALLY wanted cake.  Lots and lots of cake.  And I ate it.  I ate it all.  Grrr.  I’ve seriously fallen off the wagon.  Like whoa.  My experiment doing Simple Start failed.  I’ve even slacked off on exercising.  Especially this past week.  I only exercised 2 days!

It’s time to try again.  What else can you do, but just keep trying, right?  I’m not sure what was up with my diet that made me basically plateau for ages.  But I know that eating everything on northwest Georgia isn’t the answer.  I got a new 12 week tracker today and I’m starting over.  It’s the first day of Em’s summer vacation too, so it seemed like as good a time as any.  My plan right now is to simply track everything I eat and just say no to the cake.  With summer comes a non-schedule.  I loathe that.  I love having time with Em, but the non-schedule-ness of it drives me nuts.  So, for exercise, I plan on getting to the gym on Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday morning by myself.  Chris works from home on Thursdays most weeks.  Then I’ll just make Em go with me on Tuesdays.  I should be able to get in my three strength training days that way.  Friday’s going to be my dedicated rest day.  I’m not going to stress if I have Monday or Wednesday off too.  But one of those days, I’ve got to do something…either the treadmill here at home, exercise dvds, Just Dance with Em, or the local park.  We’ll see.

In other news, things are great.  For soccer, Em played those last two games and they won both.  She told her coach she didn’t want to play goalie any more and she actually did much better than she has for most of the season.  We finally had her season-end party on Tuesday at the Italian place one of her teammate’s grandparents/parents own.  This was one of my only good decision days lately.  I had a salad (0 points) with grilled chicken and ranch on the side.  I had one small square of bread and one bite of the cookie cake.  And when I left I was STARVING.  Anyway, soccer’s done.  We got her soccer pics and they are AWESOME.  Her best yet, I think.  That’s her to the right.

We also finally got her TKD pics back.  Did I tell you how expensive they were?  For two sheets (1 8×10, 2 5x7s) we paid the same price as for her soccer package where we get 1 8×10, 2 5×7, 2 4×6, 8 2×3, a magnet, and a team picture.  Yeah.  And we didn’t even add any of the backgrounds (omg embarrassingly bad).  But she looks great.  Here’s that pic to the left.  She’s doing great there still.  She wants to take every class she can.  And she’s got a new affinity for the Saturday XMA class.  She likes all the dramatic moves and stuff, as well as all the tumbling and such.

They had the 4th grade honors day on Wednesday.  Guys.  Okay, at Em’s school, they have a Kindergarten Rising Star thing that’s all the K classes together.  And they have one for all the 5th graders leaving.  In 1st-3rd, they have their honors stuff in the classrooms.  Last year, 3rd grade, is the first year they have real grades.  There were TONS of awards.  4th grade, for some reason, also does an assembly with all the classes together.  Obviously, this will take a long time because there are so many of them.  So they have hardly any awards.  There were a frak-ton of kids who got the Merit Award (all As and Bs), and a couple dozen who got the Honor Roll (All As).  Then we had to sit through three different levels of attendance awards.  Seriously.  There’s Silver for less than 3 absences and 5 tardies.  Gold for no absences and less than 5 (or 3?) tardies.  And Platinum for none of either.  Seriously.  Other than that, there was a boy and girl award for PE, Music, and Art.  And there was the Citizenship Award (one boy, one girl) for each class.  Other than that, they asked the kids that participated in some art thing to stand up and asked the kids who were invited to do Duke TIP to stand up.  That’s IT.  Okay, I know we want well-rounded kids and it shouldn’t be ALL about academics.  But this is school…shouldn’t MOST of it be about academics?   (((*ETA* – Totally forgot!  Em got Honor Roll for all As and Silver Award for Attendance.)))

Then we get to the AR thing.  I’ve talked about this a lot.  AR is Accelerated Reader.  It’s a program where you read books that are scored based on length (for number of points) and reading level.  You read the book and take the test, earning points.  They push this hard at Em’s school.  Em LOVES it.  When she was in 1st grade, I remember her coming home to tell me that they announced on their tv station who got the most points for each grade and how many they got.  She was so excited and wanted to be one of those!  Another girl beat her in 1st grade.  She wasn’t super upset, don’t get me wrong.  But she wanted to be the highest the next year.  She got a LOT in second grade and her teacher gave her tons of awards for it.  But they didn’t announce it on the tv station and she had no idea how she placed.  In 3rd grade, she beat out her whole grade and got the most points.  But it was only announced in her class (which is fine, just saying.)  They evidently didn’t announce it on the tv station except when she was in 1st.  So then we get to 4th grade.  The awards thing was a joke.  I told Em to ask her teacher where she placed in the grade on the last day…so she’d know.  She forgets EVERYthing, so I ended up writing him a little note, asking him to let Em know how she did, comparably.  Not only did he do that, but he made a big announcement in front of the entire class, telling them that she had the most and how many she had.  She loved it.  Oh, also after her awards thing, we came back to the classroom and the kids had prepared a thing for the parents that was cute.  They did sign language to Fireflies by Owl City and Happy by Pharrell Williams.  It was too cute.

Anyway, on her last day, she came home with certificates for participation in the Reading Bowl and Duke TIP.  She also brought her full CRCT scores.  We’d previously gotten results for only 3 sections.  With all the results, she officially got Exceeds Expectations in all 5 subjects.  We also got the results from her FitnessGram.  (Seriously, when I hear that, I always think of Buddy the Elf:  “What’s a FitnessGram?  I want one!).  This measures her physical fitness.  They time her for running a mile.  She has to do a bunch of different exercises and do as many as she can.  Then it tells you how she did and how a 10yo girl SHOULD do.  She exceeded in all areas but one.  That one she met, but I can’t remember what it was.  It was something to do with inches.  You were supposed to do 8″ for her age, and she did 7″ one time and 8” the next.  No idea.  It also tells her BMI and the range it should be in.  She’s right in the middle of her range.  So, a great end to the school year on all counts!

Today I’m taking Em to a sleepover at a friend’s house.  The friend has an older sister.  Between those two and all their guests, they’ll have 9 girls there.  :-O  Good luck to her!  I just hope Em doesn’t come home in a foul mood like she did last time.  Yikes!

Ooh, I also took Em to the orthodontist today.  She gets her braces off in 3 months.  In 6 weeks, she goes back and gets her expander cut out.  It’s attached to bands on two back teeth that are loose.  He doesn’t want to pull it out because he wants the teeth to come out on their own.  So they’re cutting it out.  She goes back 3 weeks after that for impressions.  Then in 3 more weeks she gets them out.  She’s SO excited.

Our summer is very lax.  Em’s got Girl Scout camp the week after next.  My mom wants her for a few days, but we don’t have a date set yet.  Other than that, she wants to do all the TKD she can and go to the pool all the time.  This is the first year I don’t have anything concrete for her to do academically.  She’s done math workbooks for the past several summers and a multiplication thing before 3rd grade.  This summer, it’s going to be more hippy dippy and she get to pick several books a week on whatever subject she wants in nonfiction books and just learn some stuff.  Nothing concrete and totally up to her.  So, that’s it.  There’s my over-due update.

Leave a Reply

Categories

