Posted by: wildflowerz | August 9, 2014

My black eye casts no shadow. Your red eye sees no blame. Your slaps don’t stick. Your kicks don’t hit. So we remain the same.

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 170.8
Weekly Change: +1.8
Total Loss: 68.4
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  11
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  No clue

Starting Weight: 239.2
Current Weight: 170.6
Weekly Change: -0.2
Total Loss: 68.6
4th and Final Goal: 89.2 (150lb Goal Weight)
Daily Points Allowance: 26
Activity Point Earned Last Week:  37
Weekly Points Used Last Week:  No clue

Oh.  Hai.  Guess I didn’t update last week, huh?  I’ve been having an attack of EAT IT ALL!  Nothing new, huh?  It’s felt much worse this week.  I think the only thing that’s saved me this week has to be the adding back of activity.  Em went back to school on Monday, so I was able to get back to the gym.  That went really well.  I did a kind of “choose your own adventure” thing for strength training.  I found a list of some popular gym exercises for particular muscle groups and you just pick some.  I’m not sure I like it, but I’ll stick with it for another week or so.

I did the Power90 dvd for a week and planned on doing it the next week, but I was just bored.  I didn’t do it any the week before last.  It’s a decent workout, but I can’t see myself doing it three times a week for weeks on end.  I guess it will just go in the pile of stuff to do when I can’t get to the gym.

Em did her TKD tournament last weekend.  It went well.  She had a lot of fun.  She only competed in the forms and in the traditional sparring.  She got a 3rd in forms, but she kind of bombed the sparring.  She froze up.  She blocked really well, but she wasn’t throwing much in the way of punches and kicks.  She also got upset.  She says that she landed plenty of punches, but they judges never called them for her.  I don’t know.  She did really well and we were super proud of her.

Speaking of tournaments, Chris kind of annoyed me.  So, DragonCon is Labor Day weekend.  Back when we were thinking of starting Em in tournaments, we found out that the big PCB one was Labor Day weekend.  I was a little disappointed because we already had DC tickets.  It should have ended there.  But Chris goes on about sunk costs and blah, blah, blah, basically saying that if we’d rather do the tournament, we should do that.  DC didn’t have many guests we wanted to see, so we were torn and decided we’d see how Em did at the tournament.  Afterwards, she LOVED it and wanted to do the PCB one.  Chris said he wanted to do DC.  But said that I could take Em on my own (yeah, no.) or find someone else to come with us.  We were at the pool on Tuesday and Em’s best friend was there.  So I asked her mom if she and her daughter might like to come with us.  She was into it!  I was so excited!  It sounded like a great weekend, girls only and all.  So, last night, I was at TKD, talking to another mom.  I was telling her how much the cheaper hotel of the ones the tournament had special rates for.  Chris looked at it and freaked out.  Okay, I wasn’t planning on going with that hotel…it was about $25-$30 more than some cheaper ones that looked decent.  But he freaked out because he said he didn’t think it would be that expensive and blah, blah, blah.  Grrrr!  Why the hell bring up that we might do this if it was NEVER going to work out??  I still need to tell Em’s friend’s mom.  At least I didn’t tell Em about it.  /sigh

So, Em started back to school on Monday.  Her teacher from last year moved up to 5th grade and she got him again.  Her two best friends are in a class together…just not Em’s class.  There are some nice girls in her class, but there’s a really bitchy one too.  See, I never thought I’d say that about a 10yo, but you don’t know this girl.  She’s got two older sisters and seems to want to act just like them.  We ran into them at Open House and she was so rude.  She kept rolling her eyes at everything her mom, Em, or I said.  She would barely look at Em.  This girl used to live in our neighborhood and Em and she used to play with her all the time at the pool.  They were in Kindergarten together and were friends.  They were then in 3rd together and I think they barely talked.  She’s been at our pool some this summer and she’s SUCH a mean girl.  At least since it’s just her, there shouldn’t be much of a problem.

This year, Em gets to change classes.  You’d think if they were going to that trouble, they’d separate them out based on ability.  But no.  Em goes with her homeroom class all together to each other class.  I’ve no idea what this is supposed to accomplish, but whatever.  She’s having a good year so far.  She’s excited about her tv station gig and she thinks she wants to try the Science Olympiad.  She’s anxious for Reading Bowl to start too.  She said one of her best friends was asked to do Reading Bowl, but the invites haven’t gone out, so I’m not sure how she knows.  Still, her friend really upped her reading last year, so it might be.  She’s also still super in TKD.  She goes to most classes every week.  If she goes to all of them, that’s 10 a week.  She usually ends up at most of them.  This week, she’s gone to all of them, but will probably miss tomorrow’s.  We’re doing a 5K tomorrow morning…probably in the rain, so that should be fun.  At least it should be a little cooler, so there’s that.  This is the first one we’ve run where you don’t get your tee until after the race.  Makes sense…I’m not one to wear the shirt to the race like so many people.  I kinda think you shouldn’t wear it until you earn it.  And you don’t earn it until you run.  It’s part of the reason why I don’t wear the one I got for the race we didn’t end up doing due to storms outside the house.  I just wear it to bed.

I’m volunteering in Em’s school’s library again this year.  This time it’s Tuesday from 8a-10a.  I’m also volunteering for her school’s lunch walk program.  I don’t know when I’m going to be doing that, just that it won’t be on Thursday.  But it will be from noon-1pm, I think.  We’ll see.

Coming up, we’ve got DragonCon over Labor Day weekend.  And we’re doing Disney the third week in September over Fall Break.  I’m so ready.  Then we plan on doing a local TKD tournament in November for Em.  Her school’s going to do one at some point too, though I don’t know when it will be.  But her school’s kind of partnering with another local school, so they’ll do the tournament together at her dojang.  Should be more competition, so that will be cool.

Leave a Reply

Categories

