Posted by: wildflowerz | October 8, 2015

Disney 2015 – Recap

I kept meaning to make this post and then kept putting it off.  Overall, we had a really good time this time.  It felt like the food was better, overall.  Even the counter service meals seemed better.  I felt much better this time, though I’m not sure why.  Usually I’m REALLY dragging by the end.  I have blisters and I’m just so tired.  But I survived this time with no blisters and I was tired, but I didn’t feel horrid.

Some highlights:

  • Best Table Service Meal:  Yak & Yeti (Animal Kingdom)
  • Best Counter Service Meal:  Starring Rolls (Hollywood Studios)
  • Best Dessert:  Mango Pie at Yak & Yeti (Animal Kingdom) though still not better than the Bread Pudding at Raglan Road (Downtown Disney)
  • Best Dessert, 2nd Place:  Butterfinger Cupcake at Starring Rolls (Hollywood Studios)
  • Worst Table Service Meal:  Sci Fi Dine In (Hollywood Studios) though it wasn’t BAD, just the worst of this trip
  • Worst Counter Service Meal:  Simpsons area (Universal Studios)
  • Worst Dessert:  Doughnut at Sci Fi Dine In (Hollywood Studios)
  • Biggest Food Disappointment:  3 way tie between the Dole Whip, Citrus Swirl, and the now non-existent Cake Cups (All Magic Kingdom)
  • Best Park:  Magic Kingdom
  • Worst Park:  Animal Kingdom
  • Best Ride in Magic Kingdom:  Seven Dwarfs
  • Best Ride in Epcot:  Test Track
  • Best Ride in Hollywood Studios:  Toy Story Midway Mania
  • Best Ride in Animal Kingdom:  Expedition Everest
  • Best Ride in Islands of Adventure:  Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey
  • Best Ride in Universal Studios:  Despicable Me
  • Most Disappointing Ride:  Transformers (Universal Studios)

I really liked a lot of things we did this trip.  Epcot, Animal Kingdom, and Hollywood Studios are really half day parks.  So, splitting the day up and going back to the hotel for a swim or heading to Downtown Disney on those days works well.  Doing both Universals in one day was a big money saver, but I would have liked to had a bit more time to shop around in the Harry Potter areas.  I obviously loved Yak & Yeti and would totally do it again on our next trip.  Obviously Starring Rolls too.

Spirit of Aloha was a pain to me this time.  I was so tired by 8:15 when we finally got to go in that it took away from the enjoyment of the show.  Also, the trip back was PAINFUL since we were so tired.  I’d totally skip this one next time, but I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who hasn’t been.  Unless you’re a late night person, though, do the first show.  But if you do the late show, drive there from your hotel if you can.

I’d also skip Sci Fi Dine In next time and maybe try Mama Melrose again or even another restaurant in the park.  Tony’s in MK was okay, but I think doing a restaurant on the monorail or one at Epcot would be a better idea.  Or possibly try the Plaza next time.

I’d also definitely want to hit Raglan Road on our next visit for sure.

A BIG help and time saver for us was the app from TouringPlans.com.  It’s worth every bit of the $15 or so we paid for the WDW & Universal access.  If you see the name and are turned off, thinking you don’t need a touring plan, don’t be so hasty.  If you’re going when it’s busy, you need one.  Even if you go when it’s not, it’s immensely helpful.  It’s mostly helpful because it will tell you when a ride is at it’s busiest.  It will tell you if you should go ahead and ride it now since the line won’t be going down or if you should just wait a few hours and come back because the line won’t be so long.  You can make a plan, but change it on the fly.  It also has real wait times for rides.  Those are usually much less than what WDW will officially tell you.  I SO recommend these apps.

Finally, how much did I walk while we were there?  Here are our totals:

  • Saturday:  13,750 steps/5.70 miles
  • Sunday:  25,047 steps/10.46 miles
  • Monday:  19,284 steps/8.05 miles
  • Tuesday:  19,288 steps/8.05 miles
  • Wednesday:  24,774 steps/10.35 miles
  • Thursday:  17,318 steps/7.23 miles

Totals:  119,461 steps and 49.93 miles

How does that compare to a normal week for me?  The week before Disney, Saturday until Thursday, I did 99,343 steps or 42.37 miles.  And it looks like I missed the gym the Sunday that’s in there so a regular week might have been higher.  And I know that I was having some issues with a blister that week, so I was a bit slower.  That thing they say about Disney being SO MUCH WALKING?  Eh.  It’s a good bit of walking.  But I don’t find that to be the issue.  In fact, I felt generally okay as long as we were moving.  It’s when we were having to stand in line that my feet hurt so badly.

Leave a Reply

Categories

