Posted by: wildflowerz | January 2, 2016

2015 Books in Review

Woohoo!  It’s that time of year when I make my book post that no one cares about but me.  😛

Overall Stats:

  • Total Books Read:  220 (13 more than last year)
  • Total Pages Read:  78,262 (1624 more than last year)
  • Total Number of Books from a Series 165 or 75% (last year was 135 or 65%)
  • Average Length of Book:  356 pages (370 pages last year)
  • Author Most Read:  Susan Wittig Albert (Joanne Fluke last year)

By the Month:

  • January:  13 (6%)
  • February:  20 (9%)
  • March:  19 (9%)
  • April:  20 (9%)
  • May:  20 (9%)
  • June:  18 (8%)
  • July:  19 (9%)
  • August:  18 (8%)
  • September:  11 (5%)
  • October:  23 (10%)
  • November:  23 (10%)
  • December:  16 (7%)

Last year, my biggest months were April, May and July.  But this year, I read more in October and November.  Can you tell we went to Disney and Dragon*Con in September?

Books Read by Category:

  • Classics:  2 (1%)
  • Fantasy:  14 (6%)
  • Fiction:  14 (6%)
  • Historical Fiction:  2 (1%)
  • Juvenile:  12 (5%)
  • Memoir:  1 (0%)
  • Mystery:  75 (34%)
  • Romance:  34 (15%)
  • Science Fiction:  5 (2%)
  • Supernatural:  23 (10%)
  • Suspense:  5 (2%)
  • Young Adult:  33 (15%)

Last year, I read  more of Mystery than anything else, followed by Supernatural and Juvenile, then Romance.  This year, I read more Mystery by far.  Then, Romance and Young Adult.

Books by Source:

  • Library:  68 (31%)
  • Owned:  94 (43%)
  • Owned/Kindle:  58 (26%)

I didn’t borrow any books this year from non-Library sources again this year.  I think, especially closer to the end of the year, I slacked off from reading Library books and tried to read down my home “to read” shelf.  It didn’t really work since I kept buying books to replace them.  🙂

Books by Rating:

  • A+:  2 (1%)
  • A:  17 (8%)
  • A-:  2 (1%)
  • B+:  19 (9%)
  • B:  17 (8%)
  • B-:  20 (9%)
  • C+:  31 (14%)
  • C:  30 (14%)
  • C-:  29 (13%)
  • D+:  22 (10%)
  • D:  15 (7%)
  • D-:  9 (4%)
  • F:  7 (3%)

So, did I do better about picking books this year?  Well, last year, I read 49 crappy books (D+ or lower), comprising 23% of my reading.  This year, I read 53 crappy books, comprising 24%.  So about the same  On the other end of the spectrum, last year, I read 25 (or 12%) A rated books last year and this year, I read 21 (or 10%).  So, yeah.

Best Books of the Year:

  • You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day
  • Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Blood of Dragons, Dragon Haven, and City of Dragons by Robin Hobb
  • Legwork by Katy Munger
  • The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett
  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
  • Triptych, Fractured, Fallen, and Criminal by Karin Slaughter
  • The Witness by Nora Roberts
  • Home Front by Kristin Hannah
  • Armada by Ernest Cline
  • Finders Keepers by Stephen King
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I had way fewer A+ books this year.  Only 2 compared to 12 last year.  But only one of my A+/A books are re-reads this year where last year I re-read all the Harry Potter and Pride & Prejudice.

Worst Books of the Year:

  • Vampalyers by Rusty Fisher
  • Grey by Christi J. Whitney
  • The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley
  • The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • An Eye for an Eye by Anthony Trollope
  • Beast by Judith Ivory
  • The Perils of Pleasure by Julie Anne Long

Not as many F books this year.  I do have two classics on there that I didn’t care for at all.  I also had one best seller and 2 highly touted romance novels.  I just didn’t care for them.  2 of those are free Kindle books that just stunk.

I had quite a few DNFs this year too.  I still don’t have a great way to keep track of them, but here are some I can bring up on GR:

  • Savage Beauty:  The Life of Edna St. Vincent Millay by Nancy Milford
  • Her by Harriet Lane
  • Night of Fire by Barbara Samuel
  • Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
  • Larklight by Philip Reeve
  • Frostborn by Lou Anders
  • Gypsy Hunted by Andrea Drew
  • The Ghost Network by Catie Disabato
  • Second Glance by Jodi Picoult
  • Dying to Read by Lorena McCourtney
  • Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey:  The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle by Fiona Carnarvon
  • Bared to You by Sylvia Day
  • Highlander Ever After by Jennifer Ashley

A few of those weren’t BAD, they just weren’t for me.  Mostly the nonfic and the YA.

Well, that’s all.  If you’re interested, I put teeny mini-reviews of all my books over on Goodreads.  Check me out there.

Responses

  1. Wow! Fantastic! 220 books? How do you manage? I read 20 books last year and I thought that was decent. Lol! That’s my book mosaic https://sukanyaramanujan.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/the-annual-book-mosaic-2015/


Leave a Reply

Categories

