Posted by: wildflowerz | June 26, 2014

Review: Influenster VoxBox – Surf’s Up

A week or so ago, I read on another blog about Influenster.  They send you boxes of stuff to try.  You try them, review them, tweet about them, whatever.  So, I thought, “Free stuff?  Sign me up!”  The follow through on it has been a bit disjointed and hard to follow, but I’m doing my best.  Each item you receive has random tasks for you to do, but it doesn’t make a lot of sense.  So, I’m going to start with my blog post and then I’ll move on to Twitter. After that I’ll see if I can figure out what else I’m supposed to be doing.

First, here’s my first box:

IMG_20140621_151223939

 

I wanted to try everything before I reviewed, but I’ve been lucky lately and haven’t had a headache, so I’ve tried everything except the First Aid:  Shot Therapy thing in the middle.

IMG_20140624_101928634 First, I tried the Sinful Colors nail polish.  I’ve only really seen Sinful Colors at Target (but I don’t really shop at WalMart, so it might be there too), but I already own quite a few bottles.  It’s super cheap (under $2) and covers very well.  This color is no exception.  It covered very well in just one coat.  Here it is on the right with just a clear base coat and one top coat of Sinful Colors.  I didn’t even get a top coat on.  Love it!

IMG_20140624_102126152_HDR Next is the Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration After Sun lotion.  Okay, I’ve pretty much given up sunning, so if I need something for “after sun” it’s a burn by accident.  So, instead of waiting for me to screw up and get a sun burn, I just tried it regularly.  My legs felt very cool after putting this on for 10 minutes or so.  It’s also smell SUPER good.  The flavor is Coconut Papaya.  I LOVE coconut flavored lotions and shampoos and such, especially during the summer.  I’ll be using this bottle up for sure and I’ll certainly buy more once I’m out of my current lotion.

IMG_20140624_103804982 Next is Covergirl’s Bombshell Curvaceous by Lashblast mascara.  I took quite a few pictures comparing this to my un-mascara-ed eye as well as comparing it to my eye with my regular mascara.  But despite me seeing a noticeable difference in the mirror, the camera didn’t really pick it up.  So, I’ll just tell you about it.  First off, I normally wear dark brown or brownish black mascara.  My skin is very fair and black is just too dark on me.  But this mascara came in black.  It goes on in two parts.  It’s got two mascara brushes that fit into the reservoir in the middle.  Number one has a curved brush.  Immediately, my eyelashes were MUCH curvier.  They curved horizonally and also lift up and curved at the tips, all without the help of one of those eyelash torture devices.  You could definitely see the difference in this and my normal mascara, Covergirl Lashblast Fusion.  Because I was taking pictures, I wanted to show you the different parts, so while I took those, it dried.  When I went to apply the second coat, the Fusion side went fine, but didn’t look much different with a second coat.  The Bombshell side got super sticky and clumpy.  I couldn’t blink without my lower lashes sticking to my face.  However, I decided that the problem might be that it had dried.  So, I removed it all and tried again, applying #2 immediately after #1.  When I did that, I got no clumping or sticking at all.  But I didn’t notice any difference whatsoever from applying the #2 coat, so I’m not sure what that’s supposed to actually do.  Bottom line, I can definitely see a difference with this mascara and will buy it when I need more, but I’m not sure what the second coat is supposed to do.

IMG_20140626_150349989 Finally, I got a coupon for a Jamba Juice smoothie mix.  I chose the Razzmatazz flavor.  It’s a mix of Strawberry, Blueberry, and Raspberry.  The back says to mix this with 8oz of apple juice, so that’s what I did.  This is supposed to make 2 servings.  I made it this afternoon and shared with my daughter.  First, this didn’t blend well.  I use the blender I usually use for smoothies with no problems (and usually include harder ice).  But this would blend and then just stop, creating an area around the blade so that nothing would mix.  Maybe it needed more juice?  We tried for a while, but eventually gave up.  I divided it between 2 glasses and it looks like each serving is a measly cup.  I don’t know about you, but I like volume.  So, it’s too thick to drink through a straw and there are still some VERY large chunks in it, so we got out the spoons.  It tasted a LOT like apple juice.  Like, that was all I could really taste.  The daughter said the same thing.  It didn’t take long for it to melt to a sipping consistency, but there wasn’t much of it either, so I was almost done by that time.  Maybe this would have been better with water?  Possibly some spinach or a banana to cut the extreme sweetness?  I don’t know, this was alright, but I wouldn’t buy it.

I’ll let you know when I try the headache stuff.


Leave a comment

Categories