Posted by: wildflowerz | November 7, 2012

Aftermath

So if you know me at all, you know I consider myself Liberal.  If you’re friends with me on FB, you’ll know that I generally try to keep the politics out of my actual posts (though with people being able to see a lot of your “likes,” who knows what people see).  When I post anything political, it’s more issues-based and usually just about marriage equality or anti-bullying.  I didn’t even post anything about our Georgia Charter School amendment (I was against it in case you’re wondering).  See, I realize that down here in the Bible Belt, I’m in an extreme minority in my views.  There are a very few people that I’m friends with whose thinking in line with mine.  I have a hard time with that some times.  Some issues I can see both sides of, but some of them I just really can’t.  And it’s hard not to make a judgement about someone who thinks something that you think is so fundamentally wrong and awful.  Mostly, I try and just forget it. I  don’t argue with anyone.  Nothing I say is going to change anyone’s mind.  Most people have their minds made up and don’t want to hear the other side or even reconsider their views.  It would take something drastic for that to happen and a comment from me isn’t going to do it.  It’s a waste of time and just creates hard feelings.  Would I feel differently if I were in the majority with my group of friends?  Would I feel more free to voice my opinion?  I don’t know.  But if I were on the other side of the fence, I seriously doubt I would post statuses even close to the two below on my page:

  • To all who voted Obama, ARE YOU CRAZY?! You re elected a man who has given us the worse fincial crisis since the great depression, a man who lid to us for 2 weeks on the terrorist attack, and denied them help as he set and watched all happen on a real time feed. I hope you or your family are never on Foreign land and need help because rember “YOUR” president will deny it.
  • I honestly cannot understand how someone that claims they are a Christian, and follow Christ, could have voted for Obama. He is everything that God and the bible is not! I will pray for him as he will unfortunately be our leader again, but I am sickened by the fact that the devil is dancing over another victory. God please help us survive and endure these next 4 years.

Seriously.  These are two statuses (typos and all) that showed up on my page this morning.  Luckily, I don’t know either of them well.  One I used to work with, but I’ve never even had a real conversation with.  The other is a neighbor who I’ve only talked to a few times at the pool.  So it’s not much of a big deal when I unfriend them later.

I wonder if I’d feel the same if I were on the other side.  I don’t know.  I’d like to think I would.  I mean, I suffered through 8 years of W and I still kept my opinions mostly to myself unless I was in like-thinking company.

To be fair, most of the posts on my wall are disappointed, but  not ugly.  I can totally understand that and respect it.  And for the other side, the few on my FList who are happy with the outcome are just that:  happy, but not gloating.  Maybe there are lots of braggers and gloaters out there and I just have a few good ones on my list.  Also, to be fair after reposting the two above comments, I also have this one:

  • I predict Colorado experiences a serious residency boom and a 200% increase in the sale of Funyuns. Lol (Didn’t Washington vote to legalize, too?)Shout out to Minnesota for bitchslappng hate. Maine and Maryland made the leap to embrace same sex marriage and I couldn’t be happier. Love triumphed over hate in nearly every corner of this election and my heart is happy. Yes we can. Yes we did. Twice.

Leave a comment

Categories